• by Amélie Antoine, Maren Baudet-Lackner - translator
  • Narrated by Will Damron, Carly Robins, Amy McFadden, Brittany Pressley
  • 5 hrs and 43 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

They were the perfect couple - but not all is as it seems.
Young married couple Gabriel and Chloé have a picture-perfect life. But when athletic Chloé suddenly drowns, Gabriel is left to grapple with the mysterious circumstances of her death. Brokenhearted, he pours out his grief in a bereavement group and is consoled by photographer Emma. While the two grow closer, Gabriel can't help but feel Chloé's presence everywhere he goes. And as revelations about Chloé slowly emerge, he begins to wonder, is Emma really that different?
From prize-winning and bestselling author Amélie Antoine comes a dark and evocative novel that will keep listeners guessing until the final moments - will Gabriel be able to move on with Emma, or will the mystery of Chloé's death consume him?


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

More Interference Than Signal

Hard to know where to start with this one. I liked the sound of it especially with multiple narrators. Some books with larger casts have proved very enjoyable recently. This format though, where each narrator leads a chapter with "their" character to the fore just doesn't work so well for me. It's a confusing mix of first person, third person and monologue with changes even within a chapter occasionally. The quality of the narrators varies considerably and I won't say who but one of them just irritated the hell out of me.

None of the characters come over very well and their personalities seem to veer off substantially to suit the plot. And that plot, well I never do spoilers but I'd be surprised if this one particularly with its very contrived ending pleases many readers.

Really this book feels like a half-decent idea for a short story dragged torturously out into a novella. Not my most enjoyable purchase.
Read full review

- Simon

Book Details

  • Release Date: 06-12-2016
  • Publisher: Brilliance Audio