Ivory

  • by Tony Park
  • Narrated by Mark Davis
  • 15 hrs and 35 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Simultaneous release of the eagerly awaited latest title from best-selling thriller writer, set in Mozambique and South Africa. Guaranteed to appeal to fans of Wilbur Smith and Beverley Harper.Alex Tremain is a pirate in trouble. The two women in his life - one of them his financial adviser, the other his diesel mechanic - have left him. He's facing a mounting tide of debts and his crew of modern-day buccaneers, a multi-national band of ex-military cut-throats, is getting restless. They don't all share his dream of going legit, but what Alex really wants is to re-open the five-star resort hotel which once belonged to his Portuguese mother and English father on the Island of Dreams, off the coast of Mozambique. A chance raid on a wildlife smuggling ship sets the Chinese triads after him and, to add to his woes, corporate lawyer Jane Humphries lands, literally, in his lap. Another woman is the last thing Captain Tremain needs right now - especially one whose lover is a ruthless shipping magnate backed up by a deadly bunch of contract killers. Meanwhile Jane finds herself torn between the crooked but charming pirate and her coolly calculating millionaire boss, George Penfold. Both are passionate, and both are dangerous. What Alex really needs is one last big heist - something valuable enough to fulfil his dreams and set him and his men up for life. When the South African government makes a controversial decision to reinstitute the culling of elephants in its national parks, Alex finds the answer to his dilemma - three tonnes of ivory.

More

Audible Editor Reviews

Using coastal Mozambique as its picturesque backdrop, Tony Park fuses heart-stopping action and adventure with steamy romance in his wildly imaginative crowd-pleaser that chronicles the exploits of Alex Tremain and his band of modern-day pirates as they square off against Chinese triads, ivory smugglers, and international shipping magnates in their dogged pursuit of one last "big score".
Mark Davis' authentic Australian twang and vivacious performance effortlessly capture the epic scope and cinematic quality of Park's irresistibly fun, pulpy adventure.

More

See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Lovable Rogues, Elephants and Diamonds?

From the start to the thrilling conclusion, this book had me in suspence all the way. It has more twists and turns than a World Rallye course with just as much speed and excitment.
You get the lot here; adventure, passion, violence and compassion in abundance.
A truly well written, compelling book I couldn't stop listening to.
Read full review

- Martin

Terrible voice, frightful reading

What a weird, stilted and annoying and finally unbearable way of reading: pronouncing the word "a" not as a short a (=uh) but always as the letter a. How unprofessional to run the reading straight over gaps in content (i.e. in the same chapter, the author switches subject completely) without an instant's pause, making comprehension of the story very tricky. And frankly the subject matter, when combined with that awful stilted hat reading, was not good enough to make me care what happened in the rest of the story. I stopped after the first part. You will understand that I do not recommend it!
Read full review

- Amazon Customer "livrée à elle-même"

Book Details

  • Release Date: 04-08-2009
  • Publisher: Bolinda Publishing Pty Ltd