Knots and Crosses : Inspector Rebus

  • by Ian Rankin
  • Narrated by James Macpherson
  • Series: Inspector Rebus
  • 6 hrs and 24 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

'And in Edinburgh of all places. I mean, you never think of that sort of thing happening in Edinburgh, do you...?' 'That sort of thing' is the brutal abduction and murder of two young girls. And now a third is missing, presumably gone to the same sad end. Detective Sergeant John Rebus, smoking and drinking too much, his own young daughter spirited away south by his disenchanted wife, is one of many policemen hunting the killer. And then the messages begin to arrive: knotted string and matchstick crosses - taunting Rebus with pieces of a puzzle only he can solve.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Great Debut!

Living in Edinburgh and having worked in the Central Library featured in this book, i found the story very close to home. This was my first Ian Rankin book and i have to say i really enjoyed it. I look forward to reading more about John Rebus.
Read full review

- Amazon Customer

great start to the series

after only recently stumbling across the rebus series, where better to start than the first book. I'm hooked already and I'm on book 7 within a month.

narration is excellent and really completes the package. only negative, the book seems quite short as do the first few rebus books, thankfully 7 and 8 appear longer and I feel I'm getting more for my audible credits.
Read full review

- Alexander Redpath

Book Details

  • Release Date: 21-03-2011
  • Publisher: Orion Publishing Group Limited