Summary

Two thousand people go missing in Alaska every year.
They vanish in the middle of mountain footraces, on fishing boats in the Bering Sea, on small planes in the Bush. Now a geologist known for going walkabout with his rock hammer has disappeared from the Suulutaq Mine in the Park. Was it deliberate? An accident? Foul play? Kate Shugak may be the only person who can find out.
But for the fact that Kate, too, is among the missing....
©2017 Dana Stabenow (P)2017 Tantor
Show More Show Less

Critic reviews

"Richly nuanced, [and] highly entertaining.... The book is sprinkled with wit, studded with exquisite descriptions of the rugged landscape, and filled with opinionated and endearing characters, including reality TV show producers, park rangers, geologists, and barkeeps." ( Publishers Weekly, starred review)
Show More Show Less

Regular price: £25.79

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – choose any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • Free, unlimited access to Audio Shows
  • After your trial, Audible is just £7.99/month
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Privacy Notice.

Buy Now for £25.79

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Privacy Notice.

By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Privacy Notice.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
5 out of 5 stars
By Joanna Crowson on 04-05-18

Kate is back

Great read, perfect for fans of Kate Shugak, and now I'm back to waiting for the next! The reader did a great job, but if you haven't read the previous book you might be confused at first. Hang on in there and all will become clear.

Read more Hide me
See all reviews

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
5 out of 5 stars
By Stevon on 12-09-17

Kate keeps rolling along

This book is really a continuation of Dana Stabenow's last book, 'Bad Blood'. It likely could have been written as one book or as the second of a sequel. But it did have different crimes to solve so hence we got this book.

In 'Bad Blood' the book ended with Kate and her dog, Mutt, getting shot without any final word and how it turned out for them. Since the series continues it is safe to say Kate survived. As with many of her books the author lays the groundwork with some background on different aspects of Alaska and the characters in her book. But eventually she gets to the crime and you are caught up in the resolution.

I continue to learn more about Alaska through her books. Even those living there get really cold in the winter and don't want to stay outside any longer than they have to. It is mentioned in the story that the elements of Alaska are out to get the people, some because they don't know any better and some that know better and still let Mother Nature get them anyway.

I find myself enjoying this series more the longer I listen to it.

Read more Hide me

4 of 4 people found this review helpful

5 out of 5 stars
By Mary Scott Blackman on 16-09-17

about time Kate returned

I was thrilled to have Kate Shugask back in my reading/listening life again. This book was excellent. The naration was,also. No one in my opinion could render Kate and all the characters as well as Margarita Gavin does. The story was very interesting and it was a pleasure to listen to. I hope that Dana Stabenow has decided to keep writing the Kate Shugak books for a long time to come. There are many more stories to tell,I am sure.

Read more Hide me

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

See all reviews