Liar

  • by K. L. Slater
  • Narrated by Lucy Price-Lewis
  • 8 hrs and 27 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

How far would you go to protect your family?
Single dad Ben is doing his best to raise his children, with the help of his devoted mother, Judi. And then Ben meets Amber. Everyone thinks this is a perfect match for Ben, but Judi isn't so sure.... There's just something about Amber that doesn't add up.
Ben can't see why his mother dislikes his new girlfriend. And Amber doesn't want Judi anywhere near her new family. Amber just wants Ben and the children.
The further Judi delves into Amber's personal life, the closer she gets to shocking secrets that could change everything. And Judi must make a decision that could lead to the most disastrous consequences.
Liar is a compelling psychological thriller with a breathtaking twist that will keep you awake until the early hours. Perfect for fans of Behind Closed Doors, The Girl Before and The Sister.

More

See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Superb narration and tense plot

Now don't get me wrong I loved this book as it does everything it says on the tin but, for me the ending/beginning was plainly obvious. A tale of secrets, deception, motherhood, madness and tenderness all served up with a dash of revenge. Its a fast paced, twisty turny novel that does keep you on the edge of your seat or in my case a cup of hot chocolate frozen between table and mouth.

All the clues to the ending are set out as the characters are given meat to their bones and the author can certainly hold your attention with her descriptive narrative.

Worth a credit.
Read full review

- Lee

Liar

The problem with certain thrillers is that the plots are far too contrived and formulaic and this is what has happened here. The main character, Judi Jukes, from whom at least 80% of the story's POV is taken from, is an unlikable and overbearing wife, mother and grandmother. Therefore the persona of Amber Carr (a name, which quite frankly reminded me of a suburban mini cab firm) doesn't juxtapose nearly well enough. As for Henry, Ben and the boys ... they might has well been selected from central casting.

There are a few continuity errors too - a joint of roast pork morphs into beef and Judi's age compared to her eldest grandson is also awry. Also, she works in a GPs surgery, so wouldn't she be able to subdue her menopausal flushes a little more effectively.

The narrator, Lucy Price Lewis, was measured throughout, albeit with more of a Yorkshire twang as opposed to a Nottinghamshire lilt.
Read full review

- SilentSinger

Book Details

  • Release Date: 30-06-2017
  • Publisher: Audible Studios