Luckiest Girl Alive

  • by Jessica Knoll
  • Narrated by Madeleine Maby
  • 11 hrs and 45 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

You can run from your past, but the truth will always find you.
Luckiest Girl Alive is an intense, compulsive debut thriller, described by Reese Witherspoon as 'the kind of book that grabs you and doesn't let go'.
Now a New York Times best seller and optioned for film by Reese Witherspoon and her production partner, Bruna Papandrea, in conjunction with Lionsgate Films.
Her perfect life is a perfect lie....
Luckiest Girl Alive by Jessica Knoll is an audacious debut thriller that will appeal to fans of Gillian Flynn, Paula Hawkins and Jodi Picoult.
Ani FaNelli is the woman who has it all: the glamorous job, the designer wardrobe, the handsome and rich fiancé. But behind her sharp edges and meticulously crafted facade lies the darkest of pasts....
When a documentary producer invites Ani to tell her side of the chilling and violent incident that took place when she was a teenager at the prestigious Bradley school, she hopes it will be an opportunity to prove how far she's turned her life around since then. She'll even let the production company film her lavish wedding, the final step in her transformation. But as the wedding and filming converge, Ani's past threatens to come back and haunt her. And as her immaculate veneer starts to crack, she is forced to question: will breaking her silence destroy all that she has worked for - or,will it, at long last, set Ani free?

More

What the Critics Say

"...definitely, definitely read it."('Why you need to read Luckiest Girl Alive', Stylist Magazine)
"There's a vogue at present for female narrators who seem designed to be utterly hateful and, at first, heroine Ani seems like a superficial Manhattan princess, interested only in designer labels and being the thinnest woman in the room. But, as this multi-layered thriller develops, the dark shadows from her traumatic adolescence are laid bare, and a brooding sense of impending horror begins to ooze through this narrative. Add a cracker of a plot revelation half way through, and it becomes clear that this classy debut will appeal to those who like thrillers with sharp edges." ('Staying In or Going Out', The Sunday Mirror)

More

See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Great Summertime read.

Great narrator's voice, really suits the lead character. If you liked 'Gone Girl' and 'The Girl on the Train', you'll like this too.
Highly recommend.
Read full review

- FKblue

Hard to empathise with main character

Is there anything you would change about this book?

For me the lead character would have to be more likeable


What was the most interesting aspect of this story? The least interesting?

The basic story line was good and the switching from past to present worked well


What does Madeleine Maby bring to the story that you wouldn’t experience if you had only read the book?

I thought the narrator was excellent


Do you think Luckiest Girl Alive needs a follow-up book? Why or why not?

No but I would try another novel by the same author


Any additional comments?

I enjoyed the narrative style but found the character of Tiffany/ Ani so unpleasant. I see a previous reviewer said she loved Tiffany so there we are, it's all up to you. It was a good premise for a novel although it was fairly easy to guess what was going to happen

Read full review

- Trish

Book Details

  • Release Date: 20-07-2015
  • Publisher: Pan Macmillan Publishers Ltd.