McLevy: The Collected Editions: Series 7 & 8

  • by David Ashton
  • Narrated by Brian Cox, Siobhan Redmond, Michael Perceval-Maxwell
  • 5 hrs and 50 mins
  • Radio/TV Program

Publisher's Summary

Eight episodes of the BBC Radio 4 detective series set in Victorian Edinburgh, starring Brian Cox. Inspired by the real-life memoirs of one of Scotland's first policemen, James McLevy prowls the dark streets of 1860s Edinburgh, bringing criminals to justice, with the assistance of Constable Mulholland.
'The Firebrand': a women's rights campaigner is kidnapped, and it's up to McLevy to investigate.
'Dead Reckoning': a strange case of grave robbing has McLevy puzzled.
'Prince of Darkness': one of Jean Brash's old lovers is back from the dead - and out for revenge.
'A Distant Death': McLevy's nightmares of death by drowning seem about to come true....
'The Blue Gown': with the help of Jean Brash, McLevy investigates the death of a seamstress.
'Flesh and Blood': a student is accused when a tavern brawl ends in murder.
'A Fine Deception': suspicion falls on a stage magician after a jewel robbery at Edinburgh Castle.
'The Last Illusion': McLevy must prove his theory that a celebrated conjurer is a thief.
Brian Cox stars as Inspector McLevy, with Siobhán Redmond as Jean Brash and Michael Perceval-Maxwell as Constable Mulholland.
Duration: six hours approx.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Takes you back to the days of policing without squad cars and super computers.

It's not complicated plots or soul destroying child murders , it's easy to follow with a touch of comedy. The actors have created a bond and seem to have gelled nicely. The one annoying thing is a lot of the background voices along with store keepers or landlords are easy to hear are done by the main cast but apart from that it's a gem.
Read full review

- Stephen Howlett

Book Details

  • Release Date: 07-04-2016
  • Publisher: BBC Worldwide Ltd