Mexico Set : Bernard Samson

  • by Len Deighton
  • Narrated by James Lailey
  • Series: Bernard Samson
  • 13 hrs and 25 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Long-awaited reissue of the second part of the classic spy trilogy, Game, Set and Match, when the Berlin Wall divided not just a city but a world.
A lot of people had plans for Bernard Samson.… When they spotted Erich Stinnes in Mexico City, it was obvious that Bernard Samson was the right man to 'enrol' him. With his domestic life a shambles and his career heading towards disaster, Bernard needed to prove his reliability. and he knew Stinnes already - Bernard had been interrogated by him in East Berlin. But Bernard risks being entangled in a lethal web of old loyalties and old betrayals.
All he knows for sure is that he has to get Erich Stinnes for London. Who's pulling the strings is another matter…


What the Critics Say

“Deighton's best… until the next” (Daily Mail)
“The poet of the spy story” (Sunday Times)
“A master of fictional espionage” (Daily Mail)
“Deighton is back in his original milieu, the bleak spy world of betrayers and betrayed” (Observer)
“Deighton is a marvel… few authors writing in the rigorous and finite genre of spy fiction have mastered the craft as well as Deighton… Mexico Set is a pure tale, told by an author at the height of his power” (Chicago Tribune)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

The master of the spy story

Any additional comments?

My comments on Berlin Game apply to the whole series. If you like spy stories you will not be disappointed.

Read full review

- Mr Tristram Shandy

Twists and turns

Very very good second book in the set. I find it takes some time to warm to the main character, Sampson. He isn't an obvious likeable lead. This book has many characters from the previous book and they make a welcome return. The book has some great locations and a very good tense ending which leaves you gripped to the final moments. Shall look forward to the next in the series.
Read full review

- A. Curtis

Book Details

  • Release Date: 23-10-2014
  • Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers Limited