Mr. Standfast : Richard Hannay

  • by John Buchan
  • Narrated by Frederick Davidson
  • Series: Richard Hannay
  • 11 hrs and 52 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Reluctantly posing as a pacifist, Richard Hannay infiltrates an anti-war league to capture an unimpeachable German spy. Mr. Standfast, the third in the series of five novels following Hannay's exploits, picks up the story after Hannay has returned home from the Somme. Working for the War Office under an assumed name, he is a brigadier still under 40, taken out of the military for a another round in the spy game.The only instructions he's given are to take up his old identity as a mining engineer from South Africa and pose as a staunch pacifist. As Hannay himself puts it: "To go into Germany as an anti-British Afrikaner was a stoutish adventure, but to lounge about at home talking rot was a very different-sized job."Richard Hannay, the South African mining engineer and war hero, again takes listeners along as he navigates the twists and turns of espionage during the turbulent World War I years.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

For the Buchan die-hard

This reading is let down by the narrator who fails to catch the essence of Hannay's decency by giving him an overly languid 'upper class' accent. Also let down by poor research on pronunciation and the reader's inability to command a Scottish accent or distinguish clearly between the different character's voices. One for the die-hard Buchan fan.
Read full review

- James

A good story spoiled!

Mr Standfast is one of my favourite John Buchan novels but I wish I had not bothered with this audio version of it. The narrator's intonation is tedious in the extreme and I wish I had paid more attention to the sample before buying it. The rise and fall of his voice bears no relation to the content of what he is reading. I was very disappointed!
Read full review

- Cannyreviewer

Book Details

  • Release Date: 06-11-2006
  • Publisher: Blackstone Audio, Inc.