Need You Dead : Roy Grace

  • by Peter James
  • Narrated by Daniel Weyman
  • Series: Roy Grace
  • 12 hrs and 21 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Roy Grace, creation of the CWA Diamond Dagger award-winning author Peter James, faces his most mysterious case yet in Need You Dead.
Lorna Belling, desperate to escape her marriage from hell, falls for the charms of another man who promises her the earth. But, as Lorna finds, life seldom follows the plans you've made. A chance photograph on a client's mobile phone changes everything for her.
When the body of a woman is found in a bath in Brighton, Detective Superintendent Roy Grace is called to the scene. At first it looks an open and shut case with a clear prime suspect. Then other scenarios begin to present themselves, each of them tantalizingly plausible, until, in a sudden turn of events, and to his utter disbelief, the case turns more sinister than Grace could ever have imagined.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

The Roy Grace Soap Opera Rumbles On!

I've been a long-time fan of this series.  Sure, it has had its ups and downs but some of the books are genuinely exciting affairs and the author's detailed knowledge and research always shine through. This one is a middling book in the series, it doesn't have the huge tension or truly dastardly villain.  The chemistry between some of the characters also seems lessened, particularly between Grace and his best friend Branson.  On the plus side there is less of the saccharine-laden interaction between Grace and his new wife! 

The narration by Daniel Weyman is, as you would expect from him, very good.  In the book's most exciting scenes towards the end the combination of James's words and this narrator provided top-notch audiobook entertainment.  The one downside is that previous narrators from a few books ago, while not as good overall, did give Branson's character a bit more oomph and he suffers as a result.

There is quite a lot about Grace's back story in this but less about the other characters than usual.  We do spend a little bit of quality time getting down and dirty in the Potting shed but not enough for this reader at least.  So, in all, this one isn't too bad.  It does contain some of the trademarks qualities of the overall series but didn't build the tension in anything like the same way as the best of them.  There are some exciting moments but not the sense of building excitement and dread that some of the books have managed.  That said, the ending setup a promise of something a bit special for the next one hinting that one of my favourite villains may be coming back for more . . .
Read full review

- Simon

OK but not among the best in the series

I’ve read/listened to most of the the previous books and, before starting this last one, listened in chronological order to seven of the previous books in the Roy Grace series, including the first one, Dead Simple, to remind myself how the characters and stories have developed over time. The strengths and weaknesses of the series are present in most of the novels: the crimes are usually imaginative and keep one guessing.

The principle characters are mostly well-drawn with back stories fleshed out, but one of the more colourful, Grace’s trusty friend DS (now DI) Glenn Branson, hardly figures in this novel and for some reason the narrator no longer gives him his previous distinctive voice which makes Branson seem flat and uninteresting. Otherwise the narrator is excellent. Grace’s boss, Cassian Pewe, has become a ridiculous caricature of spite. The long running story of Grace’s first wife, Sandy’s, disappearance is, thankfully, at last resolved, but I’m getting weary of the cheesy, unrealistic, lovely-dovey scenes with his new wife, Cleo.

There’s far too much description of what every character is wearing from head to toe and product-placements galore. Listening to 7 books in a row, it also struck me how much padding there is in the novels with lots of details, some of which are interesting, and often repeated from novel to novel. It’s more noticeable in this latest book as the actual plot is less pacy and only really takes off towards the end of the book and ends in a disappointing surprise.

I’ll probably continue with the series in the hope that this dip in performance is inevitable in a long series.
Read full review

- Kirstine

Book Details

  • Release Date: 18-05-2017
  • Publisher: Macmillan Digital Audio