Nightfall : Jack Nightingale

  • by Stephen Leather
  • Narrated by Paul Thornley
  • Series: Jack Nightingale
  • 11 hrs and 51 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

“You’re going to hell, Jack Nightingale”: They are words that ended his police career. Now Jack’s a struggling private detective – and the chilling words come back to haunt him.
Nightingale’s life is turned upside down the day that he inherits a mansion from a man who claims to be his father. It comes with a warning that Nightingale’s soul was sold at birth and a devil will come to claim it on his 33rd birthday – just three weeks away.
Jack doesn’t believe in Hell, but when people close to him start to die horribly, he is led to the inescapable conclusion that real evil may be at work. And that if he doesn’t find a way out, he’ll be damned in hell for eternity.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

What a gripping tale.

I have never come across Stephen Leather's books before, but if this is indicative of the standard of his stories, I will be looking for more in the future. I was so gripped by the tension of Jack Nightingale being surrounded by death and mayhem as he tries to find out the truth about his birth and the fate that awaits him on his 33rd birthday that I stayed awake half the night listening, because I just had to know what happened next. It is a long book, but my attention never wavered, which is rare. I recommend this as a jolly good 'read' to anyone who enjoys thrillers. A beautiful reading job by Paul Thornley, whose voice was perfect for the character, was the icing on the cake.
Read full review

- Hilary T.

A fantastic audiobook

I love all of Stephen Leather's books but this in my opinion is his best by far a really gripping listen, the Dan Shepperd books are fantastic but this is totaly different and Paul Thornley in my opinion is a fantastic narrator, try listening to this while walking the dog at night really does make you keep looking behind you.
Read full review

- Stephen

Book Details

  • Release Date: 04-06-2010
  • Publisher: ISIS Audio Books