Nineteen Eighty : Red Riding Quartet

  • by David Peace
  • Narrated by Saul Reichlin
  • Series: Red Riding Quartet
  • 14 hrs and 23 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

*Please note this audiobook contains explicit language.
Nineteen Eighty is set against an evolving backdrop of power, corruption, and lies.
The nightmare continues during the winter of 1980 when the Ripper murders his 13th victim and the whole of Yorkshire is terrorised. Assistant Chief Constable Hunter struggles to solve the hellish crimes and bring an end to the horror, but is drawn ever deeper into a world of bent coppers and sleaze. After his house is burned down, his wife is threatened and his colleagues turn against him, Hunter’s quest becomes personal, as he has nothing left to lose.
Nineteen Eighty is a compelling battle between two desperate men, each determined to destroy the other. This third volume of the Red Riding Quartet displays Peace’s unique voice, which places him as one of the UK’s finest crime writers.
David Peace (born 1967) is an English author. He was named one of the Best of Young British Novelists by Granta in 2003 and won the 2004 James Tait Black Memorial Prize for Fiction. He is also known for his novels GB84 and The Damned United; the latter was made into a feature film starring Michael Sheen.


What the Critics Say

"Quite simply, this is the future of British crime fiction." (Time Out)
"The pace is relentless, the style staccato-plus and the morality bleak and forlorn... Peace's voice is powerful and unique." (Guardian)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful


i disagree with the other reviewers the repetition of phrases makes it
have enjoyed the whole set
Read full review

- wendy

really let down

i am very sorry but i have to say this.why dose the author have to keep repeating drove me mad hearing the same descriptions repeated over and over again.this book is hard work but i will finish and read the final book.
Read full review

- caroline

Book Details

  • Release Date: 05-08-2010
  • Publisher: Audible Studios