*Please note this audiobook contains explicit language.
Jeanette Garland, missing Castleford, July 1969. Susan Ridyard, missing Rochdale, March 1972. Claire Kemplay, missing Morley, since yesterday. It’s winter, 1974, Yorkshire, Christmas bombs, Lord Lucan on the run, the Bay City Rollers, and Eddie Dunford’s got the job he wanted – crime correspondent for the Yorkshire Evening Post. He didn’t know it was going to be a season in hell. A dead little girl with a swan’s wings stitched into her back. A gypsy camp in a ring of fire. Corruption everywhere you look.
In Nineteen Seventy Four, David Peace brings passion and stylistic bravado to this terrifyingly intense journey into a secret history of sexual obsession and greed, and starts a highly acclaimed crime series that has redefined how the genre is approached.
David Peace (born 1967) is an English author. He was named one of the Best of Young British Novelists by Granta in 2003 and won the 2004 James Tait Black Memorial Prize for Fiction. He is also known for his novels GB84 and The Damned United; the latter was made into a feature film starring Michael Sheen.
©2000 David Peace (P)2010 Audible
Show More Show Less

Critic reviews

"Nineteen Seventy Four is raw and furiously alive, the literary equivalent of a hard right to the jaw. David Peace has delivered the finest crime fiction debut of the year and joined a select group of novelists who are transforming the genre with passion and style." (George Pelecanos)
"Quite simply, this is the future of British crime fiction." (Time Out)
"The pace is relentless, the style staccato-plus and the morality bleak and forlorn....Peace's voice is powerful and unique." (Guardian)
"A triumph of sustained narrative energy that reinvigorates the British crime novel" - (Daily Telegraph)
"This is one of the most exciting thrillers I have ever read. As a literary work, it zings with poetry, rhythm and black elegance" – Iain Martin (WATERSTONES)
"A beautifully written and chilling debut novel that firmly establishes David Peace as a master wordsmith and crime fiction aficionado" – (
"A must-read for fans of gripping fiction" – (Woman and Home)
Show More Show Less

Regular price: £18.99

Free with 30-day trial
Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – choose any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • Free, unlimited access to Audio Shows
  • After your trial, Audible is just £7.99/month
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Privacy Notice.

Buy Now for £18.99

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Privacy Notice.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
5 out of 5 stars
By Michael on 02-07-10

When?s the next instalment?!

As a regular listener to thriller titles, this came as a real surprise. A lot darker and grittier than I expected. Character development and scene setting, really add to the plot and immerse you in the atmosphere of the time. Not for the more sensitive listener, but the dialogue really adds to the effect. I found myself engrossed and am very excited by the prospect of 3 more instalments, bring it on!

Read more Hide me

9 of 9 people found this review helpful

2 out of 5 stars
By John on 09-03-14

Irritating reading

What would have made Nineteen Seventy Four better?

A convincing Yorkshire voice which fits the lead character. The reading is not only unconvincing the phrasing and emphasis are odd.

Read more Hide me

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

See all reviews

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
4 out of 5 stars
By Ms Letty on 14-07-10

Brilliantly refreshing and original

An excellent work from a writer with an original voice. I notice there have been a great many complaints about the "swearing and cursing", but the whole point of Peace's gritty realism is surely (as the author has said himself) that violence and death and the circumstances surrounding them should not be sanitized. They are awful things.

As to the grimness, well, this is what life was like in the North of England in 1974. I remember. And when working class people have their backs against the wall there are even more expletives than usual... plus the Brits swear *a lot* in the natural course of things.

Myself, I can't wait for the rest of the series - and Audible... where have Mr Peace's books disappeared to? A lot of us want more... not to have the Quartet shelved (to my dismay I can't even find the first two books - which I've bought - in Audible's listings any more) presumably because a few people say they are "personally offended" by all the swearing, and asking (rather cheekily) if the characters are speaking English?! Rather juvenile criticisms, to say the least.

What happened to free speech? And besides, the rest of the world deals very cheerfully with American accents from all the states in the US - indeed the accents usually enrich the work. I think in fairness that the same courtesy should be extended to the British Isles.

My question now, Audible, is where is the rest of the Red Riding Quartet? Bring it on! Please... It's first class stuff, and some of us are hooked on it.

Read more Hide me

11 of 11 people found this review helpful

5 out of 5 stars
By Brendan on 04-07-10

On The Button

I am a retired UK police officer, and this novel takes place at a time when I was serving.

When I read policiers, entertaining though they are, the coppers are rarely anything like the smelly, sexist, cussing, fighting fellers I worked with.

The coppers, and the journos in this book, are perfectly drawn. This is exactly what policing was like in those times.

Quite brilliantly written, not a word wasted, and spoken in the vernacular of the time. Chilling, accurate and entertaining.


Read more Hide me

29 of 31 people found this review helpful

See all reviews