Not Safe after Dark, Volume Three

  • by Peter Robinson
  • Narrated by Robert Glenister, David Shaw Parker
  • 5 hrs and 26 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

The third volume in this unabridged chilling collection of short tales from the author of the best-selling Inspector Banks series. Peter Robinson is one of the crime world's finest stylists. This is a collection that will explore our hidden paranoia, challenge all that we take for granted, lure us to new, exotic places - only to make us wish we could run back home, and keep us up all night just waiting for the safety of the dawn. This is the final volume of a three volume audio series.


What the Critics Say

"This enjoyable anthology made me regret missing volumes 1 and 2 of the short stories by Robinson... There are some playful oddities here that take us a long way from Banks's provincial English beat. Kay has fun in The Duke's Wife, a tale of twisted eroticism in Renaissance Vienna, and there is dark comedy and an extra-firm twist when a Canadian writer gets entangled with a fan. Best of all is Going Back, a satisfyingly long story that finds Banks in his family council house in Peterborough." (Sunday Times) Audio book of the week


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Not Robinson's best work

Despite the odd interesting experiment ("The Duke's Wife" in Volume Three, for example, a short story of murder featuring the characters from Shakespeare's Measure for Measure) and brief interludes filling in the gaps between the Inspector Banks novels, this collection is a slightly disappointing one. The stories are frequently predictable, unlike the full-length Inspector Banks novels, and certainly not up to Robinson's usual standard.
Read full review

- Katherine

Book Details

  • Release Date: 15-01-2008
  • Publisher: Pan Macmillan Publishers Ltd.