On the Edge

  • by Michael Ridpath
  • Narrated by Sean Barrett
  • 11 hrs and 58 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

City bond-trader Alex Calder is a man known for taking big risks and winning. But when colleague Jennifer Tan decides to pursue a sexual-harassment case against her boss, Calder witnesses the ugly side of his world - and the tragic. For Jen commits suicide and Calder quits in disgust. One year on, Calder is running a flying school in Norfolk. But the past won't disappear. When a former colleague of Jen's vanishes while visiting Jean-Luc Martel, the infamous "Man Who Broke the Euro", in his mountain paradise in the Rockies, Calder sees the tragic events of 12 months earlier in an even more sinister and terrifying light.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Outstanding narration

On the Edge is a good yarn - made into a real page-turner (to use old language) by The Art of Sean Barrett. What an amazing reader. With his seemingly nonchalant narrative presentation providing the firm ground, he peoples his story with very clear and present characters. Even the incidental figures comes to life.
Sean does this with such ease and subtlety that one doesn't even notice that the characters are 3D and in colour. And he know just when to up the tension of the narrative. Truly, he is a master-reader. The Predator preceded On the Edge, and See No Evil is going to follow it.
Read full review

- N

a good thriller and very well narrated

Michael Ridpath writes competent rather than great thrillers. His plots are reasonably well put together, usually with a financial markets dimension, and his characters are varied and plausible. But I dont think I would go out of the way to buy one of his books to read, as it were - there are better around.

That said, his books do translate very well to audio format particularly if you have a good narrator, and Sean Barratt is definitely worth his money on this one. I certainly enjoyed the book and would warmly recommend it.
Read full review

- Tom

Book Details

  • Release Date: 14-05-2007
  • Publisher: ISIS Audio Books