Summary

The dead can still talk - as Lawrence Juste is about to find out - and what they have to say is deadly.
A tense psychological thriller for fans of Gone Girl and The Girl with No Past.
He thought he'd eluded the nemesis from his past - even made some kind of atonement for abandoning his family by defending his sister's child against a murder charge. His black had become a mere dirty grey, with the possibility of being bleached enough to still make High Court Judge if he'd played his cards right, hadn't it?
Someone obviously doesn't agree.
Someone who persists in taunting him with notes and lies that lead nowhere but to more lies.
Someone who clearly wants him to dig even further into his buried past in order to clear his name.
Someone who might have already murdered once, and is ready to murder again. But they're already dead.
For Lawrence, the twisted saga of deceit, intrigue, and conspiracy continues as his family expands and the real truth behind his past begins to surface in this, the second book in the Patchwork People trilogy.
©2014 D.B. Martin (P)2016 D.B. Martin
Show More Show Less

Regular price: £19.39

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – choose any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • Free, unlimited access to Audio Shows
  • After your trial, Audible is just £7.99/month
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Buy Now for £19.39

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
5 out of 5 stars
By Norma Miles on 22-01-17

"Twisty, twisty, like the cap on a bottle sealing"

Any additional comments?

Another death in the large family of once repected barrister, Lawrence Juste. And this time it's even closer to home - in his own home, in fact! Still caught in the complex web of lies and relationships he desperately needs to unravel the facts if he is not to be held for the murder of his sister. But who can he trust to tell him the truth? Who, other than the murderer, knows it anyway? Mysterious parcels arrive with cryptic clues. Who is sending them? It can only be Margaret, his wife. But Margaret is dead, killed in a hit and run accident. And then there is Danny ...

This is a stunning book of twists and turns, a tapestry of interwoven lives, once left behind but now returned with devastating consequences. The second in the Patchwork People trilogy, it excels even the first book for intrigue and mysteries. Told in the first person by Lawrence Juste himself we are confused and conflicted, desperate and terrified along with him as no one seems to be what they appeared. And having only recently redound his lost, very large, family he can only take them at face value until proven wrong.The writing is good the characterization excellent and all is enhanced by Bob Grove's narration. He becomes the embattled barrister, confused and drawn into something he thought left behind: emotional feeling. Mr.Grove's voicing of all the other protagonists is also distinctly individual and recognizable, making their identification easy. And his soft English voice is very easy on the ear.

This is a book I would most definitely recommend to anyone who enjoys a well crafted mystery to untangle, heavy on interesting chapters each acting on their own motivation. Be prepared to make assumptions only to have them dashed away soon after as other facts are revealed - or are they lies, too? Wonderful. The second in the trilogy, I would recommend also that the reader starts with the first book, Patchwork Man, to get the fuller understanding of both Juste's background and character, and the predicament iin which he is trapped. It will also help with the identification of the. numerous characters involved here, especially family members. It will not disappoint.
An immensely enjoyable series so far. Now the final book of the trilogy awaits me. I purchased it as soon as I finished listening to this one, so completely involved am I in this twisting, intriguing, fascinating tale.

Read more Hide me
5 out of 5 stars
By Mark on 06-12-16

Better than The Girl on the Train!

Any additional comments?

Having listened to the first volume of this trilogy, I snapped up this second volume as soon as I saw it. Although this second volume, Patchwork People, could easily stand on it’s own, the compelling story was probably richer for me having listened to Patchwork Man first. A combination of tight, captivating writing and a highly skilled and versatile narrator makes this title a “must listen”. I can’t wait for Patchwork Pieces - volume 3 of this incredible trilogy.

Read more Hide me
See all reviews

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
5 out of 5 stars
By in1ear (John Row) on 06-12-16

Layered Mystery, Psychological Thriller

What made the experience of listening to Patchwork People, Book 2 the most enjoyable?

This is the second work of a Trilogy. I had the pleasure of listening to Book One, "Patchwork Man" a few months ago. I was hooked on the story of Lawrence Juste, his past and the secrets that are chasing him. I couldn't wait to read more.
In conjunction with the story line, Rob Graves' excellent narrative work was perfect for this story.

Who was your favorite character and why?

Lawrence. The story is told from his point of view and experiences.

What about Rob Groves’s performance did you like?

Rob Groves has what I call a "soft" British accent. Cultured, easy on this American's ear! lol He has a good storyteller's sense of drama, pace. Without being overly dramatic. And he possesses a range of voices for the many (!) characters in this work.

Was there a moment in the book that particularly moved you?

I strongly empathize with the things Lawrence is dealing with. Betrayal, death, legal etc.

Any additional comments?

I enjoyed this second book as much as its predecessor, and look forward to Book Three!

Thank you for the opportunity to review it!

This review copy audiobook was provided by the author at no cost. I am happy to give my honest review of it.

Thank you, Debrah (D.B. Martin)!

Read more Hide me

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

5 out of 5 stars
By Bethany on 08-12-16

WOW. Satisfying, edge-of-my-seat book

I was captivated by Book 1 ... Book 2 surpassed it in both performance and mind boggling twists. The author's skillful writing, excellent character and plot development, and the narrator's delivery of the story, made this an unforgettable book, one I didn't want to pause for even a moment. So happy this is a series!

I was gifted this book in exchange for an unbiased review... And I feel honored to do so.

Read more Hide me

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

See all reviews