Paul Temple: The Complete Radio Collection: Volume Two : Paul Temple: The Complete Radio Collection

  • by Francis Durbridge
  • Narrated by Marjorie Westbury, Peter Coke
  • Series: Paul Temple: The Complete Radio Collection
  • 18 hrs and 49 mins
  • Radio/TV Program

Publisher's Summary

Five complete radio dramas featuring writer-cum-amateur-detective Paul Temple, plus bonus archive material.
When it comes to classic crime partnerships, Paul Temple (Peter Coke) and his wife, Steve (Marjorie Westbury), are the crème de la crème.
Between 1938 and 1968, their glamorous exploits enthralled generations of radio listeners around the world. Here, presented in chronological order, are some of the amateur detective's adventures from the 1950s: 'The Gilbert Case' (1954); 'The Lawrence Affair' (1956); 'The Spencer Affair' (1957); 'The Vandyke Affair' (the 1959 remake) and 'The Conrad Case' (1959). This set also includes a number of bonus items.
Duration: 19 hours approx.
PLEASE NOTE: When you purchase this title, the accompanying reference material will be available in your Library section along with the audio.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Great period drama

If you enjoy wallowing in nostalgia for the days when men were addressed by their surname and police officers drank copious whisky and soda while investigating crimes, this is for you. The plots have a recurring theme, but are sufficiently complex that it is very hard to guess the villains. The accents and special effects belong to another age when life was simpler and elocution was a virtue. But the suspense still works and the characters are convincingly voiced.
Read full review

- Steve_Morris

A really good listen

Would you listen to Paul Temple: The Complete Radio Collection: Volume Two again? Why?

Yes, It's like a really good film. Listen to it again and you listen for more things

What was one of the most memorable moments of Paul Temple: The Complete Radio Collection: Volume Two?

No one item leapt out, it was all so good.

Was this a book you wanted to listen to all in one sitting?

Goodness yes, I put my headphones on and it was fantastic.

Any additional comments?

This volume is certainly far better than volume 1, or at least going by the comments left. The chapters in Vol 2 flow through really well. You even get a slight role over from the last chapter so you keep up. The sound quality is also really good. If anyone has been put off buying this volume due to the comments of Vol 1, then be assured this copy is worth it.

Read full review

- MG

Book Details

  • Release Date: 01-09-2016
  • Publisher: BBC Worldwide Ltd