Piranha to Scurfy and Other Stories

  • by Ruth Rendell
  • Narrated by Lindsay Duncan
  • 8 hrs and 39 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

A collection of nine beautifully crafted, terrifying and intriguing tales of spine-tingling psychological terror and suspense from Ruth Rendell.The title story, is about a man whose life, in a sense, is a book. Life for Ambrose Ribbon is lonely, paranoid and obsessive without his mother, yet there is one book that he associates particularly with her: Volume VIII of the Encyclopedia Britannica, Piranha to Scurfy'. It marked a very significant moment in their relationship. But now that she is gone, Ambrose is left to spend his days reading and critiquing novels and writing vicious letters to their authors, pointing out these errors of fact and usage. No one can blame him, this is after all what his mother taught him. Then, one day he comes upon a book that attacks him.


What the Critics Say

"Multiple Edgar and Gold Dagger award winner Rendell displays her mastery of spine-tingling suspense in her first short story collection since Blood Lines." (Publishers Weekly)
"These short fictions showcase Ruth Rendell's many gifts, among them the ability to evoke a mood and trap a reader in the deepest recesses of a character's psyche." (Amazon.com review)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

No customer reviews available

Book Details

  • Release Date: 01-08-2010
  • Publisher: Audible Studios