Playing Dead

  • by Jessie Keane
  • Narrated by Karen Cass
  • 12 hrs and 42 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Annie Carter is back....
She was a madam in a brothel and a gangster's moll, but now her protection is gone and her enemies are closing in.
In 1971, London gang boss Annie Carter Barolli is living the New York high life with the feared Mafia godfather Constantine Barolli. Then family tragedy strikes, leaving only Annie, Constantine's sister, Gina, and his three children alive, and now they're in terrible danger. And what's worse - it signals a major shift in mafia power.
Annie returns to London with her daughter, Layla, pursued by a hit man. Someone wants her dead, and the only way she can stay alive is to find out who's paying for the contract and to strike first.
Then, the reappearance of an old East End face sparks a shocking suspicion - the possibility that Max Carter, Annie's first and greatest love, didn't die two years ago, as she had been led to believe.
Has he truly just been playing dead?

More

What the Critics Say

"A cracking story from a great new writer." (Mandasue Heller)
"Perfect for fans of Martina Cole and Lynda La Plante." (Glamour)
"Gritty and powerful, Martina Cole fans will love this addictive novel." (Closer)

More

See More Like This

Customer Reviews

No customer reviews available

Book Details

  • Release Date: 19-10-2017
  • Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers Limited