Summary

Annie Carter is back....
She was a madam in a brothel and a gangster's moll, but now her protection is gone and her enemies are closing in.
In 1971, London gang boss Annie Carter Barolli is living the New York high life with the feared Mafia godfather Constantine Barolli. Then family tragedy strikes, leaving only Annie, Constantine's sister, Gina, and his three children alive, and now they're in terrible danger. And what's worse - it signals a major shift in mafia power.
Annie returns to London with her daughter, Layla, pursued by a hit man. Someone wants her dead, and the only way she can stay alive is to find out who's paying for the contract and to strike first.
Then, the reappearance of an old East End face sparks a shocking suspicion - the possibility that Max Carter, Annie's first and greatest love, didn't die two years ago, as she had been led to believe.
Has he truly just been playing dead?
©2011 Jessie Keane (P)2017 HarperCollins Publishers
Show More Show Less

Critic reviews

"A cracking story from a great new writer." (Mandasue Heller)
"Perfect for fans of Martina Cole and Lynda La Plante." ( Glamour)
"Gritty and powerful, Martina Cole fans will love this addictive novel." ( Closer)
Show More Show Less

Regular price: £12.99

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – choose any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • Free, unlimited access to Audio Shows
  • After your trial, Audible is just £7.99/month
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Buy Now for £12.99

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
5 out of 5 stars
By Miss on 14-01-18

Great Book

I really enjoy this author great follow on book well worth a read brill book

Read more Hide me

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

See all reviews