Pray for Silence : Kate Burkholder

  • by Linda Castillo
  • Narrated by Kathleen McInerney
  • Series: Kate Burkholder
  • 11 hrs and 28 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

New York Times best-selling author Linda Castillo delivers an electrifying thriller in which Chief of Police Kate Burkholder must confront a dark evil to solve the mysterious murders of an entire Amish family.
The Plank family moved from Lancaster, Pennsylvania, to join the small Amish community of Painters Mill less than a year ago and seemed the model of the Plain Life-until on a cold October night, the entire family of seven was found slaughtered on their farm. Police Chief Kate Burkholder and her small force have few clues, no motive, and no suspect. Formerly Amish herself, Kate is no stranger to the secrets the Amish keep from the English-and each other-but this crime is horribly out of the ordinary.When she discovers a diary that belonged to one of the teenaged daughters, Kate is shocked to learn the girl kept some very dark secrets and may have been living a lurid double life. Who is the charismatic stranger who stole the young Amish girl's heart? Could the brother-a man with a violent past, rejected and shunned by his family and the Amish community, has come to seek out revenge? As Kate's outrage grows, so does her resolve to find the killer and bring him to justice-even if it means putting herself in the line of fire.
Topping her own best-selling debut, Linda Castillo once again immerses us in the world of the Amish with a chilling story that is both a fast-paced thriller and intriguing psychological puzzle.

More

What the Critics Say

"Though the violence level is high, the brutality is offset by Kate's and her team's very capable police procedure and investigation. Another solid effort that will appeal to fans of Karin Slaughter and Tami Hoag." (Library Journal)

More

See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Brilliant (Book 2)

In the small Amish community of Painters Mill an entire family of seven was found slaughtered on their farm.

Chief Kate Burkholder (former Amish) and her small team have few clues.
Then Kate discovers a diary that belonged to one of the victim and is shocked to learn the girls secrets.

State Agent, John Tomasetti, himself in trouble at work, arrives to assist.

Can be read on its own but follows on beautifully from Book 1, Sworn to Silence.
Read full review

- Amazon Customer

Book Details

  • Release Date: 22-06-2010
  • Publisher: Macmillan Audio