Summary

Sarah Hilary, winner of the Theakston's Crime Novel of the Year, returns with a new Marnie Rome novel, Quieter Than Killing. The Daily Mail heralds Sarah as one of 'Britain's best new crime writers' - for fans of Val McDermid and Mo Hayder.
Sometimes staying silent is the only way to survive.
'You only ever ask that. Why did I do it? You never ask what they did.'
The winter cold is biting, and a series of assaults is pulling DI Marnie Rome and DS Noah Jake out into the frosty, mean streets of London far more than they'd like.
The attacks seem random, but when Marnie's family home is ransacked, there are signs that the burglary can have been committed only by a child - and someone who knows all about her. It will take a prison visit to her foster brother, Stephen, to help Marnie see the connections - and to force both her and Noah to face the truth about the creeping, chilling reaches of a troubled upbringing. For how can a damaged child really leave their past behind them?
©2017 Sarah Hilary (P)2017 Headline Digital
Show More Show Less

Regular price: £19.99

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – choose any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • Free, unlimited access to Audio Shows
  • After your trial, Audible is just £7.99/month
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Privacy Notice.

Buy Now for £19.99

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Privacy Notice.

By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Privacy Notice.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
5 out of 5 stars
By Mary on 19-03-17

Another great case.

I bought this as soon as it was available and have enjoyed it as much as the others. I love the realistic continuity of the series, both in the details of the new case & references to the past investigations, but also with regards to the credible arcs of the main characters.
A dense and tensely written story that makes you work alongside the investigators to get to the understanding.
My dog is as thrilled as me when a new Marnie Rome story appears on Audible because we take many, many long walks so I can immerse myself fully.

Read more Hide me

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

5 out of 5 stars
By Jaye on 04-05-17

Superb Read

This is the 4th instalment following the crack crime fighting team of DI Marnie and DS Jake who grabbed my attention from book one and it has continued. I actually did not want the book to end I am sure if time was on my side I would have finished this book in one day. Highly addictive although each book has separate cases for me having a little more back story helps.

This book sees them taking on gang crime and abduction and there are twists and turns hard to explain without giving away any spoilers but Marnie & Noah Jake trust their instincts, all I can say is I recommend the whole series of books.

I feel that Sarah Hilary is giving us little titbits of Marnie's background and a little more about DS Jake whose personal life hits a very difficult clash of work and family towards the end of the book, I think there lies another book (please Sarah) I would love to see this dramatised on film or a tv series.

Read more Hide me

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

See all reviews