Raymond Chandler: The BBC Radio Drama Collection

  • by Raymond Chandler
  • Narrated by Toby Stephens
  • 10 hrs and 34 mins
  • Radio/TV Program

Publisher's Summary

The complete collection of landmark BBC Radio dramas of Raymond Chandler's Philip Marlowe mysteries.
Philip Marlowe is the archetypal noir detective: wisecracking and world weary, hard boiled yet honourable. This volume includes all eight dramatisations of Raymond Chandler's groundbreaking crime novels featuring his iconic hero.
The Big Sleep: Marlowe is consulted by a wealthy family man with two big problems: his children.
Farewell My Lovely: Marlowe's search for an ex-con's ex-girlfriend leads him into danger.
The High Window: when a rare gold coin is stolen from her collection, Mrs Murdoch hires Philip Marlowe to find it.
The Lady in the Lake: businessman Derace Kingsley hires Marlowe to find his estranged wife, Crystal.
The Little Sister: commissioned to find Orfamay Quest's missing brother, Marlowe is drawn into the glamorous film world of Hollywood.
The Long Goodbye: Marlowe befriends a drunk named Terry Lennox but comes to regret doing him a favour.
Playback: hired to follow the mysterious Betty Mayfield, Marlowe soon finds that he is being tailed, too.
Poodle Springs: newly married Marlowe puts his bride aside to look for a gambler on the run.
Starring Toby Stephens as Philip Marlowe, these stylish, suspenseful dramatisations - full of witty, ironic dialogue and colourful characters - bring the beautiful, corrupt world of California in the '40s and '50s to luminous life.
Duration: 11 hours approx.
PLEASE NOTE: When you purchase this title, the accompanying reference material will be available in your Library section along with the audio.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

So would chapter headings have killed them?

Any additional comments?

Good performances and some of the greatest crime narratives of the 20th century. But the chapter headings give no hint to which story the chapters cover, and the beginnings of each story don't have any identifying introductions. You have to know the stories themselves to figure out just what you are listening to. Want to dive straight into "The Long Goodbye"? Then it's forward and back on the chapter headings until find the start of it - or not. Lazy editing on someone's part.

Read full review

- S. Kennedy

Very good versions of Chandler classics

Overall, this was an interesting listen with fine performances and suitably atmospheric music.
It was annoying that the stories were not introduced at the beginning so that, unless you looked at the details section, it wasn't clear until the end what you'd be hearing. Admittedly, it was possible to guess which was which with the better known ones but,as the stories tend to cover similar ground, this is not always the case.
This smallish error spoilt the production for me, hence 4 stars all round.
Read full review

- Ms J Stevenson

Book Details

  • Release Date: 01-09-2016
  • Publisher: BBC Worldwide Ltd.