Redemption Road

  • by Lisa Ballantyne
  • Narrated by Peter Kenny
  • 10 hrs and 50 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

The crash is the unravelling of Margaret Holloway. Trapped inside a car about to explode, she is rescued by a scarred stranger who then disappears. Margaret remembers little, but she's spent her life remembering little - her childhood is full of holes and forgotten memories. Now she has a burning desire to discover who she is and why her life has been shrouded in secrets.
What really happened to her when she was a child? Could it have anything to do with the mysterious man who saved her life?
Flitting effortlessly between past and present, this is a suspenseful, gritty and emotionally charged journey of an estranged father and daughter, exploring the strength of family ties and our huge capacity for forgiveness.


What the Critics Say

"[A] moving, insightful debut.... It's easy to see why this caused such a stir at Frankfurt last year. If it isn't this year's Before I Go To Sleep, I'll eat my laptop." (Guardian on The Guilty One)
"Sophisticated, suspenseful, unsettling, and highly recommended: a terrific debut from an author to watch." (Lee Child on The Guilty One)
"Thought provoking, brave and challenging, this book is an unsettling and compulsive read." (Rosamund Lupton, best-selling author of Sister and Afterwards, on The Guilty One)
"This is a subject that grips the attention like a vice." (Daily Mail on The Guilty One)
"Lisa Ballantyne has written a first novel that is both moving and suspenseful; richly detailed, yet with the eerie simplicity of a parable." (Joyce Carol Oates on The Guilty One)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Kenny is great, Ballantyne is okay

The story is nicely structured if a little predictable, the 3 main characters are all quite believeable. I feel like the author was trying for a more suspencfull vibe which I didn't feel really came off, but I still enjoyed listening!
Read full review

- A Friend

Book Details

  • Release Date: 16-07-2015
  • Publisher: Hachette Audio UK