Say It With Poison, Mitchell and Markby Village, Book 1

  • by Ann Granger
  • Narrated by Judith Boyd
  • 8 hrs and 5 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

When Meredith Mitchell agreed to stay with her actress cousin, Eve, in the run up to Eve's daughter's wedding, she anticipated a degree of drama. But she can hardly have expected it to include murder, blackmail, and unrequited love. Or to involve a certain Chief Inspector Markby, a middle-aged divorcee.As material witness to the only case of murder the Cotswold village of Westerfield has ever seen, Meredith soon becomes involved in the case and with helping Chief Inspector Markby. Meredith is a career diplomat and soon needs her considerable skills when steering a path between her duty to the police and loyalty to her cousin's family.


What the Critics Say

"Granger's strong debut features Meredith Mitchell, a British consular officer who encounters murder and a contemplative chief inspector during her Oxfordshire holiday." (Publishers Weekly)
"A gripping'll soon be addicted." (Woman and Home)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

well-plotted and well-read

This book is the one in which Markby and his future wife Meredith first meet. It is a good story that keeps one wanting to listen. There are quite a few characters to remember, but they are brought alive by the writer and the excellent reading by Judith Boyd.
Read full review

- Kirstine

A good start to the series

Great for long journeys in the car enjoyed by all the family
Read full review

- Simon

Book Details

  • Release Date: 25-01-2007
  • Publisher: Whole Story Audiobooks