Sea of Stone : Fire and Ice

  • by Michael Ridpath
  • Narrated by Seán Barrett
  • Series: Fire and Ice
  • 10 hrs and 13 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Oli and Magnus Jonson have spent decades trying to escape from the shadows of their past. Raised by their grandparents in Bjarnarhofn, a remote farmstead in Iceland, both brothers had to endure brutal violence at the hands of their grandfather.
When Constable Pall Gylfason is called to investigate a suspected homicide in a remote farmstead, he is surprised to find Detective Magnus Jonson is already there. Magnus identifies the dead man as his estranged grandfather. Before long, Magnus is arrested for the murder of his grandfather. When it emerges that his younger brother, Oli, is in Iceland after two decades in America, Pall begins to think that Magnus may not be the only family member in the frame for murder.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Icelandic Bloodbath!

Michael Ridpath's final episode in Magnus's search for his father's killer descends into black farce as most of his icelandic family are killed off and the author leaves his nicest creation 'Arna', on the sidelines. Saved by Sean Barret's rich, gravelly reading this book lacks credibility but is a pleasant enough 'whodunnit'.
Read full review


Nearly all tied up

I have enjoyed this series, generally it came together well, though I have little patience with Ollie, Magnus' brother.
I think that I will shortly read all of the series again as my memory doesn't always retain all the relevant points from previous history. That perhaps is one of the drawbacks of the series, there is often reference to previous situations and actions, and if it has been months or a year between books I think it can be a little confusing and not everything clicks.
I do think that Michael Ridpath is a fine craftsman and his stories are really well conceived and executed. I love Sean Barrett as the narrator too.
There is one other book that shows as part of this series -'Polar Bear'(?) but it is only 2 hours long, I am not sure whether it IS a wrap up book and feel unwilling to spend a credit on it!
Read full review

- mollyeyre

Book Details

  • Release Date: 01-08-2014
  • Publisher: Isis Publishing Ltd