Sherlock Holmes and the King's Evil : Sherlock Holmes on Her Majesty's Secret Service

  • by Donald Thomas
  • Narrated by John Telfer
  • Series: Sherlock Holmes on Her Majesty's Secret Service
  • 9 hrs and 41 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

In these five tales, Sherlock Holmes is shown at the height of his powers: he co-operates with a young Winston Churchill in the famed Siege of Sydney Street, helps defeat a plan for a German invasion outlined in the Zimmerman Telegram, establishes a link between two missing lighthouse keepers and the royal treasures of King John, contends with a supernatural curse places upon an eccentric aristocrat, and discovers a lost epic of Lord Byron. But it is all in a day's work for the great detective, who continues to defy the odds and lives to fiddle and ratiocinate another day.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Not his best but still good.

Sometimes when reading a book set in the past I get the impression the author has done an awful lot of research and is determined to get his money's worth out of it. That is the case with this one. There were long passages of descriptions and scene setting which seemed only there because it was good stuff and shouldn't got to waste. Not to say that stuff isn't interesting because it is - but if you edited it out you'd still have a good book, albeit about a fifth shorter.

This author has written several of these Sherlock Holmes books and they actually are in keeping with the Conan Doyle stories - the set up is that Watson wrote all these stories after Holmes died but they were too inflammatory to be published for the next 100 years or so until all those involved had died. This works very well and is how all the research comes in as the stories often reflect historically accurate events from the period. If you have enjoyed his other books I would definitely recommend this one. If you are trying him out for the first time I would start with an earlier one.
Read full review

- Ms Lixie

Book Details

  • Release Date: 10-08-2011
  • Publisher: Blackstone Audio, Inc.