Silent Scream : Detective Kim

  • by Angela Marsons
  • Narrated by Jan Cramer
  • Series: Detective Kim
  • 8 hrs and 18 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Even the darkest secrets can't stay buried forever.
Five figures gather 'round a shallow grave. They had all taken turns to dig. An adult-sized hole would have taken longer. An innocent life had been taken, but the pact had been made. Their secrets would be buried, bound in blood.
Years later a headmistress is found brutally strangled, the first in a spate of gruesome murders that shock the Black Country.
But when human remains are discovered at a former children's home, disturbing secrets are also unearthed. DI Kim Stone fast realizes she's on the hunt for a twisted individual whose killing spree spans decades.
As the body count rises, Kim needs to stop the murderer before they strike again. But to catch the killer, can Kim confront the demons of her own past before it's too late?
Fans of Rachel Abbott, Val McDermid ,and Mark Billingham will be gripped by this exceptional new voice in British crime fiction.
A detective hiding dark secrets, Kim Stone will stop at nothing to protect the innocent. Silent Scream is the first book in the series. Watch out for Evil Games, coming soon.

More

What the Critics Say

"A superb debut by an assured new writer. Blending sharp wit with emotion, I thoroughly enjoyed the ride alongside DI Kim Stone and look forward to the next outing." (Mel Sherratt)
"I absolutely loved it!.... This one is one of the best crime thrillers I've read in a long time, and that includes mainstream authors such as James Patterson! I would seriously put this book in the same league." (Fiona's Book Reviews)

More

See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Good story, dreadful narrator.

What did you like best about this story?

The story was well written and exciting. It held my interest and as I am familiar with the area in which the novel is set this added another aspect for me.


How could the performance have been better?

Unfortunately I found this the worst professional narration to which I have ever listened. It was read too quickly in places and without inflection. The accents were inconsistent and at times poor. A further minor annoyance was the mispronunciation of place names. I would avoid Jan Cramer in future if at all possible.


Read full review

- G. Willoughby

Awful narration

How did the narrator detract from the book?

Such a shame this excellent book was read by such a dreadful narrator, I kept wanting to read it for her, the inflection and stresses were completely out of sync with the mood of the story, it was as if she was reading without understanding the content. I gave up listening after an hour and bought the kindle book to read myself.


Read full review

- Sarn

Book Details

  • Release Date: 24-04-2015
  • Publisher: Bookouture