Silent Scream : Detective Kim

  • by Angela Marsons
  • Narrated by Jan Cramer
  • Series: Detective Kim
  • 8 hrs and 18 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Even the darkest secrets can't stay buried forever.
Five figures gather 'round a shallow grave. They had all taken turns to dig. An adult-sized hole would have taken longer. An innocent life had been taken, but the pact had been made. Their secrets would be buried, bound in blood.
Years later a headmistress is found brutally strangled, the first in a spate of gruesome murders that shock the Black Country.
But when human remains are discovered at a former children's home, disturbing secrets are also unearthed. DI Kim Stone fast realizes she's on the hunt for a twisted individual whose killing spree spans decades.
As the body count rises, Kim needs to stop the murderer before they strike again. But to catch the killer, can Kim confront the demons of her own past before it's too late?
Fans of Rachel Abbott, Val McDermid ,and Mark Billingham will be gripped by this exceptional new voice in British crime fiction.
A detective hiding dark secrets, Kim Stone will stop at nothing to protect the innocent. Silent Scream is the first book in the series. Watch out for Evil Games, coming soon.

More

What the Critics Say

"A superb debut by an assured new writer. Blending sharp wit with emotion, I thoroughly enjoyed the ride alongside DI Kim Stone and look forward to the next outing." (Mel Sherratt)
"I absolutely loved it!.... This one is one of the best crime thrillers I've read in a long time, and that includes mainstream authors such as James Patterson! I would seriously put this book in the same league." ( Fiona's Book Reviews)

More

See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Good story, dreadful narrator.

What did you like best about this story?

The story was well written and exciting. It held my interest and as I am familiar with the area in which the novel is set this added another aspect for me.


How could the performance have been better?

Unfortunately I found this the worst professional narration to which I have ever listened. It was read too quickly in places and without inflection. The accents were inconsistent and at times poor. A further minor annoyance was the mispronunciation of place names. I would avoid Jan Cramer in future if at all possible.


Read full review

- G. Willoughby

Disappointment

What made the experience of listening to Silent Scream the most enjoyable?

I did not read this book for long. I found I started to silently scream with the narrators voice! So sorry, not read, story seems ok but completely spoilt for me by her voice


Would you be willing to try another one of Jan Cramer’s performances?

No


Read full review

- P. S. Elliott

Book Details

  • Release Date: 24-04-2015
  • Publisher: Bookouture