Skinner's Rules : Bob Skinner

  • by Quintin Jardine
  • Narrated by James Bryce
  • Series: Bob Skinner
  • 12 hrs and 32 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

As head of Edinburgh's CID, Detective Chief Superintendent Bob Skinner has seen it all...but even he is shocked by the savagely mutilated corpse discovered in a dark alleyway. The victim is identified as a successful young lawyer, and the motive for the brutal death remains a mystery. Then further seemingly random killings in the city begin to suggest a vicious serial killer on the rampage. But when the lawyer's fiancée is also murdered, Skinner realises that someone is in deadly earnest.
What eventually emerges is an elaborate smokescreen shrouding a deep-rooted and intricate conspiracy. Now, whatever the danger to himself, Skinner is determined that in Edinburgh, at least, folk will abide by his rules.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Sorry not for me

What could have made this a 4 or 5-star listening experience for you?

A more realistic story, To be fair the story started really well but quite quickly went into the realms of the unbelievable, I could have coped with that but I felt the narration was dreadful and some of the main voices did not ring true.

What will your next listen be?

Probably a Rebus as the storylines are tight and the narrator James MacPherson is excellent.

How did the narrator detract from the book?

Greatly I am afraid. The characterisations did not work for me at all,

Read full review

- Craig

Started well

I was really enjoying this story, the main character - Skinner was such a nice honorable guy and the murder that happened was being investigated ........ then it slowly degenerated into over hyped political tension and crime. It really became boring, I also found the 'sweetness and light, lovey dovey' relationship he has a bit 'Mills and Boon'.

The narration by James Bryce was OK ish, but some of the voices he used were odd to say the least!

I don't think I will bother with following up on the series.
Read full review

- mollyeyre

Book Details

  • Release Date: 01-01-2013
  • Publisher: Isis Publishing Ltd