Sweet Danger : Albert Campion

  • by Margery Allingham
  • Narrated by Franis Matthews
  • Series: Albert Campion
  • 7 hrs and 42 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Way back during the Crusades, Richard I presented the Huntingforest family with the tiny Balkan state of Averna but since then the kingdom has been forgotten, until circumstances in Europe suddenly render it extremely strategically important to the British government. They hire unconventional detective Albert Campion to recover the long-missing proofs of ownership - the deeds, a crown, and a receipt - which are apparently hidden in the village of Pontisbright.
On arriving in Pontisbright, Campion and his friends meet the eccentric, young, flame-haired Amanda Fitton and her family who claim to be the rightful heirs to Averna and join in the hunt. Unfortunately, criminal financier Brett Savanake is also interested in finding the evidence for his own ends.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful


Would you recommend this audiobook to a friend? If so, why?

Another matchless performance from the late Francis Matthews. He captures the characters and the era perfectly. After I finished this I started listenng to another one narrated by David Thorpe.......very second rate ... Wish more Matthews recordings were available

Read full review

- slb

Not Allingham's best story

I like Majorie Allingham's vintage detective novels and can put up with a lot of her whimsy because of the fantastic atmosphere she can build up.
However this was too ridiculous for me and also had a thoroughly irritating heroine, Amanda. Allingham was obviously smitten with her daft wilfulness but it set my teeth on edge. The trio of young artistos helping Campion were almost as exasperating, and the plot was pants.
Far far better are the novels which also feature Detective Inspector Luke. I'd recommend ' The Tiger in the Smoke' for starters.
The reading was quite good but there's only so much you can do with such weak material.
Read full review

- D

Book Details

  • Release Date: 01-08-2012
  • Publisher: Audible Studios