Sworn to Silence : Kate Burkholder

  • by Linda Castillo
  • Narrated by Kathleen McInerney
  • Series: Kate Burkholder
  • 11 hrs and 43 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Now the subject of the Lifetime original movie: An Amish Murder
Some secrets are too terrible to reveal...Some crimes are too unspeakable to solve.In the sleepy rural town of Painters Mill, Ohio, the Amish and "English" residents have lived side by side for two centuries. But 16 years ago, a series of brutal murders shattered the peaceful farming community. In the aftermath of the violence, the town was left with a sense of fragility, a loss of innocence.
Kate Burkholder, a young Amish girl, survived the terror of the Slaughterhouse Killer but came away from its brutality with the realization that she no longer belonged with the Amish.Now, a wealth of experience later, Kate has been asked to return to Painters Mill as Chief of Police. Her Amish roots and big city law enforcement background make her the perfect candidate. She's certain she's come to terms with her past - until the first body is discovered in a snowy field. Kate vows to stop the killer before he strikes again. But to do so, she must betray both her family and her Amish past - and expose a dark secret that could destroy her.

More

What the Critics Say

"Deeply flawed characters in a distinctive setting make this a crackling good series opener, recommended for fans of T. Jefferson Parker and Robert Ellis, whose books take place in very un-Amish settings but who generate the same kind of chills and suspense." (Booklist)

More

See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Shocking to read

I didn't know what I was getting into when I downloaded this book - I have never listened to anything like it and I'm not sure I would want to again. Obviously well written or I suppose I wouldn't be so shocked but the first paragraph was so disturbing I became quite upset. I spread the book over a few weeks and managed to finish it the storyline was good but one wonders at the necessity of such graphic description. Or how anyone could describe anything so awful?
Read full review

- Amazon Customer "Poppylove"

Not great, even for £5.99

I bought this in a halloween sale- it was cheap and long enough to make it feel worth buying even though I didn't know what to expect. But I didn't enjoy it much, and couldn't listen to the whole of the last half. It is a fairly standard thriller, though (partly) set in an amish community, which sounded interesting. I felt the characters were one dimensional, though I think the author put lots of effort in to make them "complex" and "flawed", this didn't work. Instead they became either unbelievable or just not real. Also, I found a lot of it tedious, despite many bloody and violent events and graphic descriptions of crimes. Just didn't do it for me- a shame as had a very promising premise. It was well read, but this wasn't enough to make it good.
Read full review

- Katherine

Book Details

  • Release Date: 25-06-2009
  • Publisher: Macmillan Audio