Taking Pity : DS Aector McAvoy

  • by David Mark
  • Narrated by Toby Longworth
  • Series: DS Aector McAvoy
  • 10 hrs and 4 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

They have taken DS Aector McAvoy's family. They have taken DCI Colin Ray's foundation. They have taken DS Trish Pharaoh's fight.
Now the ruthless criminal network that has tightened its stranglehold on Hull intends to take everything that remains from those who dare to stand in its way.
Taking Pity is a police procedural thriller that pulls no punches. It is the story of three officers who can take no more and a merciless nemesis that takes no chances, no prisoners and no pity.


What the Critics Say

"Outstanding." (Peter May)
"Fast-moving and tightly plotted, with strong characterisation and a likeable protagonist." (Guardian)
"One of the darkest of the new faces in British crime writing, and not one to miss." (Daily Mail)
"Exceptional... An exciting new talent." (Val McDermid)
"David Mark dissects the dark strange underbelly of Hull with a steely precision. The city has found its Rankin." (Stav Sherez)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Good story - poor structure

Great idea, great narration but for me there were to many jumps between characters and plots that were poorly signposted.
Read full review

- John

The best yet in this series

The storyline is engaging and moves with a good pace. At times it can be a little far fetched to be believable even for a crime thriller but the plot in general is well thought out and sound. Background is quite important so read the others in the series first but this is definitely the best so far.
Read full review

- Dr Lambert

Book Details

  • Release Date: 16-07-2015
  • Publisher: Quercus