The Accident

  • by C.L. Taylor
  • Narrated by Jenny Funnell
  • 9 hrs and 44 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

C.L. Taylor's The Accident is as tightly woven and sharply winding as all her previous works. As each mystery is solved, another rises to take its place, until at last we learn the answer to the one question that has been burning from the very beginning.
Fast paced and suspenseful, The Accident is perfect for fans of Before I Go to Sleep, Gone Girl, and Sophie Hannah.
A gripping psychological thriller about the deadly secrets your children can keep....
Sue Jackson has the perfect family, but when her teenage daughter, Charlotte, deliberately steps in front of a bus and ends up in a coma she is forced to face a very dark reality.
Retracing her daughter's steps, she finds a horrifying entry in Charlotte's diary and is forced to head deep into Charlotte's private world. In her hunt for evidence, Sue begins to mistrust everyone close to her daughter, and she's forced to look further, into the depths of her own past.
Sue will do anything to protect her daughter. But what if she is the reason that Charlotte is in danger?

More

What the Critics Say

"An enjoyable rollercoaster of a suspense novel with multiple twists." (Daily Mail)
"This dark and creepy book is a must read." (The Sun)
"A thrilling crime debut" (Woman Magazine)
"An ominous atmosphere, a tense tale of past and present colliding, and a narrator whom no-one believes: this book is a delight." (Alex Marwood)
"Utterly compelling. I could not put this gripping, heart-stopping page-turner down" (Rowan Coleman)
"Twisty, dark and utterly compelling" (Lucy Diamond)
"I was gripped from start to finish. Everyone should read this book!" (Lucy Robinson)
"This fast, twisty psychological thriller has suspense on every page!" (Paula Daly)
"Gripping and terrifying" (Julie Cohen)

More

See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

"Keeping this secret is killing me!"

Any additional comments?

'Keeping this secret is killing me!' - so 15 year-old Charlotte wrote in her diary before she walked in front of a bus, an entry her desperate mother Sue found in the hidden diary whilst Charlotte lies in hospital in a coma. 'The Accident' is in the genre of Gone-Girl-fast-paced psychological thrillers which keep you listening. The trick with these stories is to keep you listening so that you gloss over the ridiculous implausibilities as you hurtle along the Big Dipper of a plot. 'The Accident' succeeds, even if the final scene in hospital is absurd and Sue's past relationship with dream-lover James who turns into your worst nightmare is incredible. But don't stop to think - just go with the twists and turns, the lies and counter-lies, the convolutions of Sue's detective work, the revealed secrets and hidden terrors - and enjoy the tension along the way. Jenny Funnell's narration helps to keep the listener grounded - she gets right inside Sue which increases our sympathy for her and our belief in her. The book has been criticised for the writer's careless writing skills including over-long ill-punctuated sentences and some readers have understandably lost patience with it for this reason. Listening to a professional narration is clearly better than reading!

Read full review

- Rachel Redford

tense!!!

loved it, some moments were really frightening, am going read more of her books. great story, great narrator, scary and exciting.
Read full review

- MR

Book Details

  • Release Date: 23-04-2015
  • Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers Limited