The Adventures of Inspector Lestrade : Adventures of Lestrade (chronological order)

  • by M J Trow
  • Narrated by M J Trow
  • Series: Adventures of Lestrade (chronological order)
  • 6 hrs and 33 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

It is 1891, and London is still reeling from the horror of the unsolved Ripper murders when Inspector Lestrade is sent to the Isle of Wight to investigate a strange corpse found walled up in Shanklin Chine.
It is merely the beginning of a series of brutal and bizarre killings so apparently random, that only a warped genius could be responsible. Even when Lestrade pieces together the extraordinary pattern behind the crimes from the anonymous poems sent after each murder, he is no closer to knowing the identity of the sinister, self-styled “Agrippa”. It becomes a very personal battle and Lestrade's desperate race to avert the next death takes him from London to the Pennines and back.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful


Love this book, love this book, love this book, love this book, love this book, love this book, love this book, love this book. It's brilliant.
Read full review

- laura bingham

Spoof Victorian crime

These tales are generally entertaining, peppered with excruciating puns, Malapropisms, Spoonerisms anachronisms, and doubles entendres. Expect bad taste - and utter political incorrectness! Sometimes it feels he's gone too far, but since the (now) appalling views are expressed by bampots, it's easier to grimace and pass on.
The author himself narrates, and he has a pleasant voice, but some of his comic accents are painful, and his pronunciation of French and German words/names, here and in other books, is surprisingly inaccurate from a teacher. Easy listening, ingenious.
Read full review

- Mary Carnegie

Book Details

  • Release Date: 22-07-2010
  • Publisher: ISIS Audio Books