The Adventures of Philip Marlowe

  • by Raymond Chandler, Mel Dinelli, Gene Levitt, Bob Mitchell
  • Narrated by Van Heflin, Gerald Mohr
  • 9 hrs and 52 mins
  • Radio/TV Program

Publisher's Summary

"Get this, and get it straight: Crime is a sucker's road, and those who travel it wind up in the gutter, the prison, or the grave." Raymond Chandler's tough, capable, smart-talking creation Philip Marlowe is one of the best-known fictional investigators in America. Through Marlowe's gaze, the translucent light of the L.A. basin comes to life, the nighttime smell of jasmine and sage, the sudden storms that cause traffic wrecks, and the desert winds that set nerves on edge.
Van Heflin and Gerald Mohr each play the title role in these electric episodes, cracking wise with the of angry glee of a take-charge operative who careens, cajoles, shoves, shouts, and sometime shoots his way to a solution in his quest for a stolen object, a missing person, or a killer needing to be found. Includes two Van Heflin episodes never before available to the public since their original broadcast. Includes 20 digitally restored and re-mastered episodes.
Episodes include: "The Red Wind", 06-17-47; "The Daring Young Dame on the Flying Trapeze", 07-01-47; "The King in Yellow", 07-08-47; "Trouble Is My Business", 08-05-47; "Robin and the Hood", 08-19-47; "Where There's a Will", 10-17-48; "The Last Laugh", 04-02-49; "The Ebony Link", 05-28-49; "The Dude From Manhattan", 07-02-49; "The August Lion", 08-06-49; "The Tale of the Mermaid", 10-01-49; "The Torch Carriers", 01-07-50; "Hairpin Turn", 01-28-50; "Ladies' Night", 02-21-50; "The Sword of Seibu", 03-28-50; "The Bedside Manner", 05-30-50; "The Gold Cobra", 06-21-50; "The Last Wish", 07-19-50; "The Fifth Mask", 09-08-50; "The Fatted Calf", 09-24-50.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

A blast from the past

Amazing with the sound effects and the dialogue.
Thoroughly enjoyed every episode. I give this a ten out of ten
Read full review

- Terry

Book Details

  • Release Date: 08-08-2014
  • Publisher: Radio Spirits