The Ambler Warning

  • by Robert Ludlum
  • Narrated by Scott Sowers
  • 16 hrs and 59 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

On Parrish Island, a restricted island off the coast of Virginia, is a little-known and never-visited psychiatric facility. There, far from prying eyes, the government stores former intelligence employees whose psychiatric states make them a danger to their own government, people whose ramblings might endanger ongoing operations or prove dangerously inconvenient. One of these employees, former Consular Operations agent Hal Ambler, is kept heavily medicated and closely watched. But there's one difference between Hal and the other patients, Hal isn't crazy. With the help of a sympathetic nurse, Hal manages to clear his mind of the drug-induced haze and then pulls off a daring escape. Now he's out to discover who stashed him here and why, but the world he returns to isn't the one he remembers. Friends and longtime associates don't remember him, there are no official records of Hal Ambler, and, when he first sees himself in the mirror, the face that looks back at him is not the one he knows as his own.


What the Critics Say

"Ludlum packs more suspense into his novels than any other six-pack of thriller writers combined." ( The New York Times)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Enjoyable rollercoaster

Robert Ludlum writes some excellent thrillers. This one is slightly formulaic and follows a similar thread to the 'Bourne' series. Having said that it was hugely enjoyable rollercoaster of a ride. The narrator's characterisation was excellent and subtle rather than over-the-top. All-in-all, very enjoyable, although I think most people will guess the ending before they get there.
Read full review

- Andrew Pindar

A good listen.

I enjoyed this book. Classic Ludlum stuff really. It's long, I'll agree, but then I like long books that develop characters slowly. The ending is surprising to say the least.
Read full review

- Robert

Book Details

  • Release Date: 06-10-2005
  • Publisher: Macmillan Audio