The Appeal

  • by John Grisham
  • Narrated by Michael Beck
  • 6 hrs and 26 mins
  • Abridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

In a crowded courtroom in Mississippi, a jury returns a shocking verdict against a chemical company accused of dumping toxic waste into a small town's water supply, causing the worst "cancer cluster" in history. The company appeals to the Mississippi Supreme Court, whose nine justices will one day have the final say. Who are the nine? How will they vote? Can one be replaced before the case is ultimately decided? With judicial elections looming, Carl Trudeau, the billionaire owner of the chemical company, decides to purchase a seat on the Court. His political operatives recruit a young, unsuspecting candidate. They finance him, manipulate him, and mould him into a potential Supreme Court justice. Their Supreme Court justice.
The Appeal is a powerful and timely story of political and legal intrigue that will leave listeners unable to think about the American judicial system in the same way ever again.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful


I am undoubtedly a Grisham fan but sometimes I do wonder if his work is written by two different people! He seems to lurch from a great read to mediocre to plain boring. The Appeal is one of those books that hints at so much potential but then lets you down by not really going anywhere. Add to that , a somewhat unusual ending and you end up with a book that is lacking and, unfortunately, disappointing.

Read full review

- T Richard


dear. I was expecting another gripping tale from an author with insight and a flair for pulling you into a story. What I got was a dry, dull affair with little to redeem it.

Grisham seems bored and jaded with his own subject matter from the start and this definitely colours the whole piece for the reader/listener. It almost smacks of going by the numbers to put another title on the inner sleeve headed "also by this author".

Very dissapointing.
Read full review

- Jeremy

Book Details

  • Release Date: 22-01-2008
  • Publisher: Random House AudioBooks