The Appleby File : Inspector Appleby

  • by Michael Innes
  • Narrated by Andrew Timothy
  • Series: Inspector Appleby
  • 6 hrs and 48 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Available to download for the very first time, the fantastic Inspector Appleby series by celebrated crime writer Michael Innes.
There are 15 stories in this compelling collection, including:

'Poltergeist' - when Appleby's wife tells him that her aunt is experiencing trouble with a Poltergeist, he is amused but dismissive, until he discovers that several priceless artefacts have been smashed as a result.
'A Question of Confidence' - when Bobby Appleby's friend, Brian Button, is caught up in a scandalous murder in Oxford, Bobby's famous detective father is their first port of call.
'The Ascham' - an abandoned car on a narrow lane intrigues Appleby and his wife, but even more intriguing is the medieval castle they stumble upon.

Legendary character Inspector John Appleby of Scotland Yard inspired a lasting vogue for donnish detective fiction. Innes's detective novels are playfully highbrow and rich in allusions to English literature and to Renaissance art.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Don't bother

You can hear the pages turning and errors have not been edited out. All distracts from the stories
Read full review

- L. Slade

Good story let down by poor production

I'm enjoying the story, but I'm afraid the production values of yesteryear aren't really up to today's standards. So when the narrator coughs, or mis-reads, or audibly turns the pages, none of it is edited out. Also, Andrew Timothy, (may he rest in peace), is very much of the old school, simply reading a story - interesting in a way, but he doesn't give the characters enough differentiation. I love classic detective fiction, and am delighted to have the Appleby stories, but this keeps mentally tripping me up with intrusive mistakes.
Read full review

- Catherine

Book Details

  • Release Date: 01-09-2010
  • Publisher: Audible Studios