The Bay at Midnight

  • by Diane Chamberlain
  • Narrated by Cris Dukehart, Randye Kaye, Julie McKay
  • 13 hrs and 33 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Her family's cottage on the New Jersey shore was a place of freedom and innocence for Julie Bauer - until her 17-year-old sister, Isabel, was murdered. It's been more than 40 years since that August night, but Julie's memories of her sister's death still shape her world. Now someone from her past is raising questions about what really happened that night. About Julie's own complicity. About a devastating secret her mother kept from them all. About the person who went to prison for Izzy's murder - and the person who didn't. Faced with questions and armed with few answers, Julie must gather the courage to revisit her past and untangle the complex emotions that led to one unspeakable act of violence on the bay at midnight.


What the Critics Say

"The story of what really happened unfolds organically and credibly, building to a touching denouement that plumbs the nature of crimes of the heart." ( Publishers Weekly)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Easy listening

I enjoyed the story, as I always do with a Diane Chamberlain book. My only complaint would be that one of the narrators read quite fast so I had to slow the speed down slightly so I could keep up without feeling out of breath!
Read full review

- Amazon Customer

My first Diane Chamberlain book

Any additional comments?

I shall certainly look out for other books by this author. The lives of two generations of a couple of families who have adjacent holiday homes are intertwined over a period of more than 50 years, encompassing great sadness, a never completely solved mystery and, eventually, understanding and contentment. The main characters (mostly female) are both likeable and interesting and, though the story frequently meanders through the minutiae of their lives, I never lost interest. The narrators all did sterling work.

Read full review

- Jill Besterman

Book Details

  • Release Date: 01-12-2015
  • Publisher: Tantor Audio