The Bear and the Dragon : The Jack Ryan Universe (chronological order)

  • by Tom Clancy
  • Narrated by Frank Muller
  • Series: The Jack Ryan Universe (chronological order)
  • 6 hrs and 3 mins
  • Abridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

In The Bear and The Dragon, the future is very near at hand indeed. Newly elected in his own right, Jack Ryan has found that being President hasn't gotten any easier: domestic pitfalls await him at every turn; the Asian economy is going down the tubes; and in Moscow, someone may have tried to take out the chairman of the SVR - the former KGB - with a rocket-propelled grenade. Things are unstable enough in Russia without high-level assassination, but even more disturbing may be the identities of the potential assassins. Were they political enemies, the Russian Mafia, disaffected former KGB? Or, Ryan wonders, is something far more dangerous at work here?
Ryan is right to wonder. For even while Russian investigators pursue the case, and some of his most trusted eyes and ears - including antiterrorism specialist John Clark - head to Moscow, forces in China are moving ahead with a plan of truly audacious proportions. Tired of what they view as the presumption of the West, eager to fulfill their destiny, they are taking matters into their own hands. If they succeed, the world as we know it will never look the same. If they fail...the consequences may be unspeakable.
Blending the exceptional realism and authenticity that are his hallmarks with intricate plotting, razor-sharp suspense, and a remarkable cast of characters, this is Clancy at his best - and there is none better.


What the Critics Say

"Intoxicating, expertly researched - seemingly inside - information, about advanced weapons of war and espionage." (Publishers Weekly) "Frank Muller puts out an amazing performance, whipping off endless Chinese and Russian names - even in dialogue - as if they were his native tongue." (AudioFile) "When the door blows open and the shooting starts, nobody does it better than Tom Clancy." (The Dallas Morning News)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Another Tom Clancy Classic

Ryan makes another appearance in this Tom Clancy novel. The build up and creating the atmosphere of the problems that Ryan face is tremendous. The description of what takes place on the boarders of China and Russia is fantastic. It was a good read.
Read full review

- S. Young

Book Details

  • Release Date: 03-05-2002
  • Publisher: Random House Audio