The Birdwatcher

  • by William Shaw
  • Narrated by Roger Davis
  • 9 hrs and 52 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Police Sergeant William South has a reason for not wanting to be on the murder investigation. He is a murderer himself. But the victim was his only friend - like him, a passionate birdwatcher.
South is warily partnered with the strong-willed Detective Sergeant Alexandra Cupidi, newly recruited to the Kent coast from London. Together they find the body, violently beaten, forced inside a wooden chest. Only rage could kill a man like this. South knows it. But soon - too soon - they find a suspect: Donnie Fraser, a drifter from Northern Ireland. His presence in Kent disturbs William - because he knew him as a boy.
If the past is catching up with him, South wants to meet it head on. For even as he desperately investigates the connections, he knows there is no crime, however duplicitous or cruel, that can compare to the great lie of his childhood.
Moving from the storm-lashed, bird-wheeling skies of the Kent Coast to the wordless war of the Troubles, The Birdwatcher is a crime novel of suspense, intelligence and powerful humanity about fathers and sons, grief and guilt and facing the darkness within.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

A twist in the tail

The story moves from present to the past and Billy's childhood during the Troubles in Northern Ireland. It was well plotted and soon became engrossing.

The narrator Roger Davis was good too in conveying the atmosphere of the small Irish village community and the Kentish area of Dungeness.
Read full review

- Rogayah

Kept my interest!

Quite an interesting tale with two parallel times being shown, South as a boy and as a man.
Although I guessed who the murderer would be it was still enjoyable as reasons unfolded. Well read by Roger Davis, the earlier life being told in a Northern Ireland accent it was easy to differentiate between the different times.
Read full review

- mollyeyre

Book Details

  • Release Date: 19-05-2016
  • Publisher: Quercus