The Black Friar : Damian Seeker

  • by S. G. MacLean
  • Narrated by Jonathan Keeble
  • Series: Damian Seeker
  • 11 hrs and 49 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Rebellion in the city and a Royalist spy in his own ranks - Damian Seeker, Captain of Oliver Cromwell's guard, must eradicate both in this action-packed historical thriller for fans of CJ Sansom, Rory Clements and The Three Musketeers.
London, 1655, and Cromwell's regime is under threat from all sides. Damian Seeker, Captain of Cromwell's Guard, is all too aware of the danger facing Cromwell. Parliament resents his control of the army while the army resents his absolute power. In the East End of London, a group of religious fanatics plots rebellion. In the midst of all this, a stonemason uncovers a perfectly preserved body dressed in the robes of a Dominican friar, bricked up in a wall in the crumbling Black Friars.
Ill-informed rumours and speculation abound, but Seeker instantly recognises the dead man. What he must discover is why he met such a hideous end and what his connection was to the children who have started to disappear from around the city. Unravelling these mysteries is challenging enough and made still harder by the activities of dissenters at home, Royalist plotters abroad and individuals who are not what they seem....

More

What the Critics Say

"MacLean skilfully weaves together the disparate threads of her plot to create a gripping tale of crime and sedition in an unsettled city." (Sunday Times)

More

See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Series hits its stride

The first Seeker novel had promise but the characters took time to warm to, not helped by a poor narrator. With a change of narrator this second Seeker novel is wonderful. An interesting collection of characters is beginning to develop and the central character of Damien Seeker is becoming intriguing in his complexity. The historical setting is well researched and believable and a fascinating period to get drawn into. I enjoyed every minute and will be waiting impatiently for the next instalment.
Read full review

- Sally

Can't wait for the next one

I really enjoyed this, good story, lots of twists and turns, interesting characters.
The narrator was very good too.
Read full review

- Genny F

Book Details

  • Release Date: 27-07-2017
  • Publisher: Quercus