The Blackhouse

  • by Peter May
  • Narrated by Peter Forbes
  • 6 hrs and 30 mins
  • Abridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

A brutal killing takes place on the Isle of Lewis, Scotland: a land of harsh beauty and inhabitants of deep-rooted faith. Detective Inspector Fin Macleod is sent from Edinburgh to investigate. For Lewis-born Macleod, the case represents a journey both home and into his past.
Something lurks within the close-knit island community.
Something sinister.
As Fin investigates, old skeletons begin to surface and soon, he, the hunter, becomes the hunted.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

So much more than just a crime story

The Blackhouse is my third book by Peter May, although chronologically I should probably have started with this one.

There are so many more layers to this book than just solving a crime - it goes deep into childhood infatuations, hidden secrets and forgotten/repressed memories of a young mind, of the thin varnish of respectability, of barely recognized motives, of revenge, and adds the harsh nature of the isles as a fitting backdrop.

Although I read the trilogy out of order, I was surprised and fully satisfied with the dramatic ending. Yes, I did shed tears at appropriate intervals.

The language never gets in the way (as it does happen in other books), and once again Peter Forbes' narration is impeccable.

I will most definitely look forward to any upcoming titles by Peter May. This one is a production I will happily return to.
Read full review

- Nils

An excellent read, excellent narration

Although a short book, this book is the perfect introduction to the three Lewis books written by Peter May. The narration is first class throughout the series and in this book the characters are nicely put into place, as well as having some glimpses into life as it was in the Outer Hebridees and as it is today.
Read full review

- Odilon

Book Details

  • Release Date: 01-11-2011
  • Publisher: Quercus Publishing