The Book of Souls : Inspector McLean

  • by James Oswald
  • Narrated by Ian Hanmore
  • Series: Inspector McLean
  • 10 hrs and 59 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Penguin presents the unabridged, downloadable audiobook edition of The Book of Souls by James Oswald, read by the actor Ian Hanmore.
Every year for 10 years, a young woman's body was found in Edinburgh at Christmastime: naked, throat slit, body washed clean. The final victim, Kirsty Summers, was Detective Constable Tony McLean's fiancée. But the Christmas Killer made a mistake and McLean put an end to the brutal killing spree.
Twelve years later, and a fellow prisoner has murdered the Christmas Killer. But with the festive season comes a body; naked, washed, her throat cut. Is this a copycat killer? Was the wrong man behind bars all this time? Or is there a more sinister explanation? McLean must revisit his most disturbing case and discover what he missed before the killer strikes again....


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Supernatural element makes the story

I bought this having bought the first in the series and really enjoyed the story and especially the supernatural elements. It kind of reminds me of Stuart MacBrides Logan McRae although not as vivid. I enjoy the character of Tony and supporting characters. The next book has not been released yet and there are some loose ends not tied up so hopefully they will be cleared I will definitely be getting the next book and would really recommend the series.
I felt the narrator was very clear and did not distract from the story.
Read full review

- Amelia

Creepier and More Sinister . . . In A Good Way!

It was always going to be a big test for James Oswald to follow up on the excellent opener to this series. It's one I think he passes with flying colours and he doesn't pull any punches with another hard-hitting novel. This one puts a slightly higher emphasis on the supernatural element. Fortunately he doesn't make the mistake of neglecting his well rounded characters which were such a strong element of the first book. They are further developed and the lead is put under some intolerable pressure, hounded at every step of course by his less than perfect boss, Dagwood.

What brings these books up to five star status though is the narration by Ian Hanmore, he and Oswald are a marriage made in heaven. Hanmore's cultured Scottish accent literally purrs through descriptive text, chills to the bone when required and yet raises itself handily for some of the lighter moments.

So, an author and a narrator both of whom are well worth watching out for have created a genuinely immersive audiobook experience!

One strong recommendation on this series would be to read them in order. I think you could enjoy them individually but enough of the storyline is continuous to make it worth starting at the beginning.

Bravo Messrs Oswald and Hanmore!
Read full review

- Simon

Book Details

  • Release Date: 01-08-2013
  • Publisher: Penguin Books Ltd