The Book of You

  • by Claire Kendal
  • Narrated by Orlagh Cassidy
  • 9 hrs and 44 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

A terrifying psychological thriller about obsession and power, perfect for fans of Gone Girl and Before I Go to Sleep.
Clarissa is becoming more and more frightened of her colleague Rafe. He won’t leave her alone, and he refuses to take no for an answer. He is always there. Being selected for jury service is a relief. The courtroom is a safe haven, a place where Rafe can’t be.
But as a violent tale of kidnap and abuse unfolds, Clarissa begins to see parallels between her own situation and that of the young woman on the witness stand. Realizing that she bears the burden of proof, Clarissa unravels the twisted, macabre fairytale that Rafe has spun around them - and discovers that the ending he envisions is more terrifying than she could have imagined.

More

What the Critics Say

"Addictive… I literally hardly breathed as I raced to the end. It's a terrifying thriller" (Samantha Hayes author of Until You're Mine)
"Creepy and compelling …. what happens when the wrong guy won't take no for an answer?" (Paula Daly. author of Just What Kind of Mother Are You)
"Chilling, raw, and utterly addictive, Th Book of You is the kind of psychological thriller that you will want to read in one gulp, only to find yourself terrified once the lights are off" (Alafair Burke New York Times bestselling author of If You Were Here)

More

See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Wow... Think I held my breathe the whole book!

I loved this book. The narration was excellent and the story totally sucked me in from the first chapter. The author seemed to have such an understanding of how it would be to have a stalker. It was terrifying.
Read full review

- Dizzything

Teeth grindingly intense and consistently gripping

From the moment I started listening to this book I was completely drawn in. Clarissa is an ordinary, slightly mousey woman who is seemingly over-obsessed by the unwanted attention from a colleague. Rafe is a man who on the face of it, is a very attractive proposition. He is attractive, successful and a highly intelligent college professor, but for some reason Clarissa is completely repulsed by his advances. The story of their relationship is brilliantly interwoven with Clarissa's experience as a member of a jury, hearing a particularly nasty case involving sexual violence. Throughout this, there is a heavy air of psychological and physical malevolence which is completely gripping.

This story cleverly explores the fine line between a woman actively seeking male attention and receiving attention from an unwanted source and it pulls no punches in describing the horror of physical violence and the helplessness of victims when seeking protection and justice. This maintains momentum throughout and neatly avoids an obvious ending. If you are looking for the antidote to Fifty Shades of Grey, you will find it here.

Orlagh Cassidy excels in her performance of the main characters and although there is arguably a slight over-cockneyfication of some of the minor characters, it was certainly not enough for this to merit anything other than a five star review.
Read full review

- Kaggy

Book Details

  • Release Date: 24-04-2014
  • Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers Limited