The Book of the Dead : Pendergast

  • by Douglas Preston, Lincoln Child
  • Narrated by Scott Brick
  • Series: Pendergast
  • 15 hrs and 8 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

The New York Museum of Natural History receives their pilfered gem collection back, ground down to dust. Diogenes, the psychotic killer who stole them in Dance of Death, is throwing down the gauntlet to both the city and to his brother, FBI Agent Pendergast, who is currently incarcerated in a maximum security prison. To quell the PR nightmare of the gem fiasco, the museum decides to reopen the Tomb of Senef. An astounding Egyptian temple, it was a popular museum exhibit until the 1930s, when it was quietly closed. But when the tomb is unsealed in preparation for its gala reopening, the killings, and whispers of an ancient curse, begin again. And the catastrophic opening itself sets the stage for the final battle between the two brothers: an epic clash from which only one will emerge alive.


What the Critics Say

"Another gripping, action-packed page-turner...with a tantalizing, ominous twist at the end." ( Publishers Weekly)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Timid end to a great trilogy.

This is the conclusion of the Diogenes Trilogy and it starts with a bang. Carrying on where the last book left off, it sets the scene for Diogenes to be the ultimate big bad for Agent Pendergast. However as the book progresses and the plot unfolds, his lethal and dangerous air seems to dissipate as we get in his head.
There are some good set pieces - the "perfect crime" is nicely executed and following Pendergast in prison, but the last third of the book seems aimless and tepid.
Worth the read if you've read the others.
Read full review

- Mr. M. Edwards

Good stuff

7 books read now, and intriguing as always. Nice twists and developments. It is easy to recreate the story in my mind and feel as though I am there with them...
Read full review

- Mark Steven Alan Thomas

Book Details

  • Release Date: 01-06-2006
  • Publisher: Hachette Audio