The Brass Cupcake: A Novel

  • by John D. MacDonald
  • Narrated by Richard Ferrone
  • 7 hrs and 36 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

A classic novel by John D. MacDonald with an exclusive introduction written and read by Dean Koontz.
Ex-cop Cliff Bartells might be the last honest man in Florence City, Florida. After quitting the force over a crisis of conscience, he takes a job at an insurance company buying back stolen jewelry. Cliff is focused on keeping the bottom line down and staying out of the spotlight.But when an affluent tourist from Boston is murdered over a hefty collection of jewelry, Cliff finds himself wrapped up in a case that’s making national headlines. With the victim’s beautiful niece, Melody Chance, determined to help retrieve the goods, suddenly Cliff has the partner he never knew he wanted. Now all they need is a suspect: someone capable of cold-blooded murder in the name of profit. And that could mean anyone in this crooked town.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

A good tale

This book is very much a product of it's time when men were men and women knew their place. I found that pretty jarring throughout the story but it was cleverly plotted and narrated in the pulp noir style.. Very Raymond Chandleresque. I enjoyed it despite the dated attitudes, it was clever and read with relish.
Read full review

- Gill

Reminiscent of Raymond Chandler

What made the experience of listening to The Brass Cupcake: A Novel the most enjoyable?

Easy to listen too, but with a complex plot

What about Richard Ferrone’s performance did you like?

Richard Ferrone does a great job with a nicely paced and balanced performance, and makes you like the main character

Was there a moment in the book that particularly moved you?

Its a crime thriller, not really meant to be moving, but I wanted to hear the end.

Any additional comments?

This is the first John D MacDonald book I have listened to and I will look out his others.

Read full review

- Jane

Book Details

  • Release Date: 09-12-2014
  • Publisher: Audible Studios