The Burglar Who Liked to Quote Kipling : Bernie Rhodenbarr

  • by Lawrence Block
  • Narrated by Richard Ferrone
  • Series: Bernie Rhodenbarr
  • 6 hrs and 9 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Best-selling author Lawrence Block will keep you hooting with laughter as you follow the hilarious hijinks of his incorrigible character, Bernie Rhodenbarr: notorious burglar and part-time sleuth. Trying to go legit, Bernie has taken over a secondhand bookstore in Greenwich Village, but he still can't resist stealing things when the rewards are right. Ever since he bought Barnegat Books, Bernie has been having trouble making ends meet. When a mysterious client asks him to steal a rare edition of Kipling's poetry, he seizes the opportunity to practice his criminal talents and pay his creditors. Pilfering the book is boringly easy. But delivering it is difficult - with the police and a host of shady assailants hot on his heels. A Mystery Writers of America Grandmaster, Lawrence Block packs his entertaining whodunits with plenty of action and unexpected plot twists. Richard Ferrone's gravelly voice and expert pacing will keep you glued to the tape deck as Bernie lands in one dangerous scrape after another.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

A great Bernie mystery

What other book might you compare The Burglar Who Liked to Quote Kipling to, and why?

I'm a big fan of the Bernie mysteries. They're kind of light - due to the relaxed, friendly persona of the protagonist; but always well written, with great meandering dialogue, and cleverly researched themes.

I'd contradict another reviewer who called this series 'samey'. Yes, they are about a burglar who gets involved in murder mysteries, so they're as samey as any other serial mystery character. It's the well explored theme of each story that separates the books, for example the work of Kipling is explored here in a very interesting way. And the husky noir-ish voiced narrator is excellent.

Read full review

- Jason

Book Details

  • Release Date: 27-10-2008
  • Publisher: Recorded Books