The Cambridge Murders : Sir Richard Cherrington

  • by Glyn Daniel
  • Narrated by Peter Wickham
  • Series: Sir Richard Cherrington
  • 11 hrs and 15 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Fisher College at Cambridge lies between St John’s and Trinity Colleges. Here one morning the bed makers and gyps, clamouring for admission on the last day of term were admitted to find, lying across the path, the body of one of the college porters.
The murder of the porter begins a mystery which deepens when it is found that the unpopular Dean of the college is missing. The search for the murderer is conducted in part by the police and partly by the Vice President of Fisher College Sir Richard Cherrington, an eminent but slightly eccentric archaeologist with a penchant for amateur detection.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Tired and amateurish

This is a very dated piece of detective fiction. It smacks a little of a vanity project or a mere academic exercise and, as such, fails to excite or intrigue. Despite different narrative perspectives the various 'detectives' follow similar thought processes which ultimately become tediously repetitive. And, the constant reconsideration of theories gets increasingly irritating. Not only this but it's whole tone, it's a true period piece, reminds us of a time of ingrained snobbery, sexism and elitism and is presented as such with no sense of irony or satire and, like Blyton and perhaps even Christie, I for one, no longer find any charm in.

The narrator makes this tale much more bearable that it might have been but apart from this I really can't find anything positive to say to redeem it.
Read full review

- K

Couldn't put it down, so to speak.

Loved the easy pace of the story especially the changes in the narrators accent when changing characters. Enjoyed returning to sections to understand complicated clues. Great for me as I also like Agather Christie. I am now looking for more by this author.
Read full review

- Val L.

Book Details

  • Release Date: 17-10-2016
  • Publisher: Soundings