The Cheapside Corpse : Thomas Chaloner

  • by Susanna Gregory
  • Narrated by Gordon Griffin
  • Series: Thomas Chaloner
  • 14 hrs and 56 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

London in the spring of 1665 is a city full of fear. There is plague in the stews of St Giles, the Dutch fleet is preparing to invade, and a banking crisis threatens to leave Charles II's government with no means of paying for the nation's defence. Amid the tension, Thomas Chaloner is ordered to investigate the murder of Dick Wheler, one of the few goldsmith-bankers to have survived the losses that have driven others to bankruptcy - or worse. At the same time, a French spy staggers across the city, carrying the plague from one parish to another.
Chaloner's foray into the world of the financiers who live in and around Cheapside quickly convinces him that they are just as great a threat as the Dutch, but their power and greed thwart him at every turn. Meanwhile, the plague continues to spread across the city, and the body count from the disease and from the fever of avarice starts to rise alarmingly...


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Great fun as usual mixed with historical accuracy

Susanna Gregory is an excellent writer with her main character giving an inside view of the absurdity of some of the lifestyles of the day, especially of the aristocracy! She manages to combine humour with historical accuracy in a way that is very rare and I have thoroughly enjoyed all her books.
Read full review

- Learning is fun!

Just needs music

Populated by a cast of clowns , the ineptitude of the main characters beggars belief , falling down , bumping into each other and sawing through bindings with pen nibs , it's no wonder that seventeenth century London was in such a state , if it were set to music you could put it on as a musical farce . The narrator did a masterful job by not bursting into laughter while he did his best to get through this fantasy
Read full review

- George

Book Details

  • Release Date: 08-01-2015
  • Publisher: Hachette Audio UK