The Chessmen : The Lewis Trilogy

  • by Peter May
  • Narrated by Peter Forbes
  • Series: The Lewis Trilogy
  • 10 hrs and 3 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Shortlisted for the Audible Sounds of Crime Award 2014
The new start...
Fin Macleod, now head of security on a privately owned Lewis estate, is charged with investigating a spate of illegal-game hunting taking place on the island.
The Old Friend...
This mission reunites him with Whistler Macaskill - a local poacher, Fin's teenage intimate, and possessor of a long-buried secret.
The Final Chapter...
But when this reunion takes a violent, sinister turn and Fin puts together the fractured pieces of the past, he realizes that revealing the truth could destroy the future.


What the Critics Say

"Peter May is a writer I'd follow to the ends of the earth" ( New York Times)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

A Masterclass in Storytelling

This is the third of the Lewis trilogy by Peter May. I read the first two but, after starting a job which involved a long drive, decided to listen to this one. This was very much the right choice.

The story is wonderful, dark and brooding, realistic about life and love and evoking the bleak environment of the islands. It’s tension never lets up and it’s very difficult to stop listening.

For me, however, this story was improved a hundredfold by Peter Forbes’s excellent narration. His accents are superb, his delivery is pitch perfect, adding a real dynamism to the tale. He is at no point over dramatic, which I find a lot on Audible, but managed to convey real emotion without sounding hammy.

Five stars aren’t quite enough for such excellent story telling.

Read full review


Riveting conclusion to 1st rate trilogy

Whilst you could undoubtedly enjoy each part of this trilogy as a stand alone story - listen in the correct order and you will gradually absorb the complete tapestry of Fin's life as well as pick up sub-plots, stories and clues that weave their way throughout the 3 books. Rarely have I come across a trilogy that has been so cleverly constructed. Well written and well read The Blackhouse, The Lewis Man and now The Chessmen are thoroughly absorbing and I would have thought enjoyable for men and women alike.
Read full review

- Linda

Book Details

  • Release Date: 03-01-2013
  • Publisher: Quercus Publishing Plc